Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: AMD Radeon HD 6320, no HDMI audio output - Radeon OSS
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi guys.

I'm having major difficulties at setting my HDMI output audio to work.
I have Foxconn nT-A3700, it's specs:
AMD E450 APU
Chipset AMD A45 FCH
VGA Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6320

At fresh xbmcbuntu install I can't get anything working (saying about HDMI audio output),
I mean:
Code:
aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Code:
:~$ cat /proc/cmdline
BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-3.13.0-39-generic root=UUID=39d533e4-c902-4e56-be47-124b53b244e8 ro radeon.dpm=1 radeon.audio=1 quiet splash vt.handoff=7


But, after installing latest kernel from repositories (3.13.0-39-generic) and adding ppa with HDA driver in DKMS, I got a little of result:

Finally lspci -nnk i get ATI HDMI audio device binded with a driver.
Code:
00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio [1002:1314]
        Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device [105b:0e29]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

and another one:
Code:
:$ ls /proc/asound
card0  card1  cards  devices  hwdep  modules  pcm  SB  seq  timers  version

as You can see, two cards appear, but when listing card0 directory, there are no files, its empty.
Additional steps made:
- compiling alsa v. 1.0.28 - no result.
- ppa oibaf, latest mesa drvs etc - no result.
- xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set audio on -> no result
- modprobe snd-hda-codec-hdmi -> no result, coz it's used whole 0 times :/

my logs:
dmesg: http://paste.ubuntu.com/9007579/
lspci -nnk: http://paste.ubuntu.com/9008492/
mesa: http://paste.ubuntu.com/9008516/
alsa-info script: http://paste.ubuntu.com/9008575/
lsmod: http://paste.ubuntu.com/9008702/
Revisit with 4.2.1 version of openelec.
I'm using OpenELEC on the same box and having no problems
Thank You guys for a quick reply.
So xbmcbuntu is a no go?
I love this whole system with DM under xbmc...

@whitebelly:
Which version of openelec works for You? Coz as far as I can remember I gave a try to 4.2.1 (after reading forum fritschs recomendation to someone) and there was no HDMI output available, and aplay did not display any also.
Gonna give it another try including betas.
I have not done the very last stable update, planned to do that this weekend and can give you my result then. I've been updating since the Fusion versions, then Generic and had no problems with HDMI.

Do you know if you have the latest BIOS on your Foxconn? While I doubt that is the problem, if all else fails it is worth checking.
(2014-11-14, 19:12)whitebelly Wrote: [ -> ]Do you know if you have the latest BIOS on your Foxconn? While I doubt that is the problem, if all else fails it is worth checking.

Hey man! This tip can be a bulls eye!

"Support new HD Audio Codec chipset and combine the new & old HD Audio Codec Table. B11F1P10"
And of course mine bios v. is B11F1P09...
Gonna try this asap and post the results Wink
Thanks!

Edit: BIOS updated, HDMI audio still doesn't work Sad

dmesg:
[ 12.603381] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: Probing card using HDA DKMS, version 0.201411132231~ubuntu14.04.1 - supposed HDMI out init
[ 12.603662] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 46 for MSI/MSI-X
[ 12.604011] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:14.2: Probing card using HDA DKMS, version 0.201411132231~ubuntu14.04.1 - Azalia init, maybe HDMI
[ 12.727628] sound hdaudioC1D0: autoconfig: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[ 12.727646] sound hdaudioC1D0: speaker_outs=1 (0x17/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 12.727653] sound hdaudioC1D0: hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 12.727658] sound hdaudioC1D0: mono: mono_out=0x0
[ 12.727663] sound hdaudioC1D0: dig-out=0x1e/0x0
[ 12.727667] sound hdaudioC1D0: inputs:
[ 12.727673] sound hdaudioC1D0: Mic=0x19
[ 12.727678] sound hdaudioC1D0: dig-in=0x1f
[ 12.744797] input: HDA ATI SB Front Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input20
[ 12.747148] input: HDA ATI SB Line Out as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input19
[ 12.747536] input: HDA ATI SB Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input18
[ 13.613246] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: Codec #0 probe error; disabling it... - HDMI error, why?
[ 18.640067] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: no AFG or MFG node found
[ 18.640106] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: no codecs initialized - thats why /proc/asound/card0 is empty Sad

now I'm gonna try openelec...
(2014-11-14, 19:47)matryc Wrote: [ -> ]
(2014-11-14, 19:12)whitebelly Wrote: [ -> ]Do you know if you have the latest BIOS on your Foxconn? While I doubt that is the problem, if all else fails it is worth checking.
now I'm gonna try openelec...

Here are the results, tried openelec stable 4.2.1, and HDMI audio doesn't work.
Tried openelec beta 4.95.2 and also no luck Sad
Code:
OpenELEC (official) Version: 4.95.2
OpenELEC:~ # aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
OpenELEC:~ # uname -a
Linux OpenELEC 3.17.2 #1 SMP Wed Nov 12 13:15:36 CET 2014 x86_64 GNU/Linux
OpenELEC:~ # lspci -nnk
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 14h Processor Root Complex [1022:1510]
    Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 14h Processor Root Complex [1022:1510]
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6320] [1002:9806]
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Wrestler [Radeon HD 6320] [105b:0e29]
    Kernel driver in use: radeon
00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio [1002:1314]
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Wrestler HDMI Audio [105b:0e29]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
    Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
[cut]

OpenELEC:/proc/asound/card0 # ls -al
total 0
dr-xr-xr-x    2 root     root             0 Nov 15 23:19 .
dr-xr-xr-x    4 root     root             0 Nov 15 23:19 ..

Openelec 3.2.4 fusion build works, since it's based on fglrx driver...

Code:
OpenELEC:/proc/asound # cat cards
0 [Generic        ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
                      HD-Audio Generic at 0xfeb44000 irq 44
1 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfeb40000 irq 16
OpenELEC:/proc/asound # lspci -nnk
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 14h Processor Root Complex [1022:1510]
    Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 14h Processor Root Complex [1022:1510]
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler [Radeon HD 6320] [1002:9806]
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device [105b:0e29]
    Kernel driver in use: fglrx_pci
    Kernel modules: fglrx
00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310] [1002:1314]
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device [105b:0e29]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
    Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

OpenELEC:/proc/asound # modinfo fglrx
filename:       /lib/modules/3.10.20/ati/fglrx.ko
license:        Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY
description:    ATI Fire GL
[...]

But all generic builds with radeon open source driver fails on this hw with HDMI audio out.
bugzilla.freedesktop.org that needs filing with all relevant information, including drm.debug=0xe
(2014-11-16, 04:21)matryc Wrote: [ -> ]Here are the results, tried openelec stable 4.2.1, and HDMI audio doesn't work.

I just updated to OpenELEC 4.2.1 Generic Stable on my Foxconn nT-A3700, HDMI w/Audio working just fine.
(2014-11-17, 14:55)whitebelly Wrote: [ -> ]
(2014-11-16, 04:21)matryc Wrote: [ -> ]Here are the results, tried openelec stable 4.2.1, and HDMI audio doesn't work.

I just updated to OpenELEC 4.2.1 Generic Stable on my Foxconn nT-A3700, HDMI w/Audio working just fine.

Hi Whitebelly, thanks for reply.

Well for me nothing works.
Been trying:
Openelec 4.2.1 - /proc/asound/card0 empty
Openelec 4.2.1 i386 the same
Openelec 4.95.2 - no HDMI audio out, as 4.2.1.

I got HDMI output once with elementary luna (based on 12.04), in /proc/asound/card0 and in aplay -l, but it disappeared after rebooting.

I've also tested few kernels in elementary:
3.2.0-13 - dmesg: HDMI failed to get afg sub nodes
3.2.0-30 - dmesg: alsa gets sigterm at the end, in /proc/asound/card0 there are files codec#0 and id, but in codec there are entries labeled unknown, and no frequencies in pcm, so it doesn't work
3.5.0-54 - as 3.2.0-30
3.8.0-25 - there is a /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 and it's filled with all frequencies and stuff, but it says it's disabled. HDMI card does not appear in aplay -l
3.8.0-26 - no card0 at all, only analog azalia. Dmesg says no codec loaded.
3.8.0-27 - as in 26
3.8.0-44 - as in 27..
and last one 3.11.0-13 nothing...

I'm getting this feeling that mine foxconn is just a faulty one since You're telling me that everything works out of the box.
Tomorrow I'm gonna fill bugzilla as fritsch recommended and also gonna buy toslink cable with jack ending since this may be the very last option to get some digital output.
Yeah, sounds like you could have a hardware problem, particularly since different OS attempts give similar results.
Hai,

Have a look here this is an amd forum.

174854 (thread)
A very important thing to do is upgrade your Linux kernel. your kernel works yes, but in 3.16+ are lots of radeon/amd improvements.

Im running 3.17.4 ( ubuntu mainstream )
http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mai...7.4-vivid/
get them : ( one line )

wget http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mai..._amd64.deb http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mai...17_all.deb http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mai..._amd64.deb

and install them.
dpkg -i *3.17.4*.deb

update-grub to be sure.
and reboot.
check again.

and.. maybe you did hit this bug:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sourc...ug/1371919

then i suggest, reinstall like the OSS forum says.
Hi thctlo, thanks for reply!

This one is going to be a longer, sorry for posting logs, but I'm out of ideas.

Well I did what You said.
Results from kernel 3.17.4:

aplay -l, no HDMI device
/proc/asound/card0 exists, codec#0 empty

dmesg:
Code:
[   10.979505] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: Codec #0 probe error; disabling it...
[   14.570678] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: no AFG or MFG node found
[   14.570707] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: no codecs initialized

I got the same result with 3.17.1

Then I tried daily 3.18.0-999
the result was the same, with addition of some spurious responses:
Code:
[   12.557384] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0001
[   12.557397] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0001
[   12.557403] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0001
[   12.557408] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0001
[   12.557413] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0001
[   12.557417] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0001

Kernel 3.13.0-24
Code:
[    9.970852] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: Using LPIB position fix
[    9.970938] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 45 for MSI/MSI-X
[   10.979505] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: Codec #0 probe error; disabling it...
[   10.981784] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: Enable sync_write for stable communication
[   16.006697] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: no codecs initialized
[   16.007185] hda-intel 0000:00:14.2: Using LPIB position fix
[   16.010910] hda-intel 0000:00:14.2: Enable sync_write for stable communication
[   18.502434] init: alsa-restore main process (905) terminated with status 99

Kernel 3.8.0-030800-generic, and 3.7.10
Code:
[   12.337351] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: azx_get_response timeout, switching to polling mode: last cmd=0x000f0000
[   13.340391] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: No response from codec, disabling MSI: last cmd=0x000f0000
[   14.347403] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: Codec #0 probe error; disabling it...
[   14.349791] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x3f0009
[   14.349818] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x3f0009
[   14.540518] hda_codec: rates == 0 (nid=0x2, val=0x0, ovrd=0)
[b][   14.541605] input: HD-Audio Generic HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.1/sound/card0/input10[/b]
[   14.738336] input: HDA ATI SB Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input11
[   14.738741] input: HDA ATI SB Front Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input12
[   14.739070] input: HDA ATI SB Line Out as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input13

Kernel 3.10.0-031000-generic
Code:
[   14.958519] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: azx_get_response timeout, switching to polling mode: last cmd=0x000f0000
[   15.963150] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: No response from codec, disabling MSI: last cmd=0x000f0000
[   16.971811] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: Codec #0 probe error; disabling it...
[   16.974093] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: Enable sync_write for stable communication
[   17.980432] hda_codec: resetting BUS due to fatal communication error
[   18.108549] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x1f0004
[   18.108566] hda-intel 0000:00:01.1: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x1f0004

The best one:
Code:
[email protected]:/proc/asound$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
[b]card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0[/b]
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

but crap starts in lsmod, since no radeon module is loaded!
And when I try to modprobe it, here what I get:
Code:
[email protected]:/proc/asound$ sudo modprobe radeon
[sudo] password for matryc:
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'radeon': Invalid argument
I thought that this invalid argument was passing radeon.dpm, but no.

So I got HDMI working even in xbmc, I can choose HDMI, but I can't get no sound, because xbmc works 1-2 frames per second without radeon module, and with 100% CPU load.
When I try to play some music it "plays" 40 seconds during 20 minutes... Sad

And the most frustrating part of this situation is that I get totally different dmesg outputs (with or without HDMI output) after rebooting foxconn.

I'm a little fed up with it, but there're some options:
1. stick with analog output :/
2. try toslink
3. try openelec newest beta 4.95.4
4. try fglrx and I know that this isn't going to be an even battle...
5. kernel compile fun - catching good config... no time for this one at the moment.
Quote:3. try openelec newest beta 4.95.4

do that, yes.

fglrx is not an option as it won't help your week CPU decoding videos. It has no decoding hw support.
(2014-11-27, 21:00)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]
Quote:3. try openelec newest beta 4.95.4

do that, yes.

fglrx is not an option as it won't help your week CPU decoding videos. It has no decoding hw support.

Yes fritsch I did that, thanks.
Well as I was thinking there's no HDMI audio out in Openelec 4.95.5, but I dealt with that already - mentally Wink
Analog is always better than nothing Smile
Pages: 1 2