Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Keyboard doesn't work after adjust display refresh rate to match video
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I just updated to Kodi 14.0 from 13.2. I have "adjust display refresh rate to match video" set to ON Start/Stop. I have "pause during refresh rate change" set to 6.0.

Whenever I play a video that triggers the "adjust refresh rate to match video", once the video starts the keyboard is not recognized. It takes me using the mouse (on the same wireless keyboard/mouse/touchpad device) to regain the ability of Kodi to recognize/process keyboard key presses. Playing a video that does not adjust the refresh rate does not have this problem, and the keyboard works fine.

Upon stopping playback (and another adjustment of the refresh rate), the keyboard will usually work, but sometimes it doesn't. A mouse interaction will get the keyboard working again just like during playback.

Disabling "adjust display refresh rate to match video" does not have this problem - the keyboard works as expected.

*******************************************************

I have used the keyboard without issue for a long time, including previous versions of xbmc. I didn't have this issue with 13.2 and the same senario.

The only input to Kodi that I use is the keyboard (no IR/LIRC for example).

Keyboard = Logitech K400r wireless connected to USB dongle. It has an integrated mouse/touchpad.

I do not have/use a advancedsettings.xml file.

I use the default keymap.

Kodi (14.0 Git:ad747d9). Platform: Linux x86 64-bit

Mythbuntu 12.04.5 LTS

uname -a
Linux ricky-myth 3.2.0-74-generic #109-Ubuntu SMP Tue Dec 9 16:45:49 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Installed from ppa:team-xbmc/ppa

Installed over previous version of xbmc 13.2

*******************************************************

The log file is at: http://paste.ubuntu.com/9643856/

SPECIFIC STEPS THAT I DID AND (what I believe to be) THE MATCHES IN THE LOG:


I had debugging already/previously enabled before launching Kodi so that debugging was going from the time I launched Kodi.
I navigated to file to be played.
I began playback by pushing 'ENTER'
The refresh rate changed to 24p as my TV displayed it's overlay stating the new refresh rate.
There was the 6 second pause as I defined in the settings during a refresh rate change.
Playback began.
After a couple seconds into playback, I pushed 'O' eight times, then 'I' eight times, 'X' numerous times all with no response (and seemingly not in the log).
A couple seconds later I pushed the right mouse button.

(when I clicked the right mouse button?)
22:12:33 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: ProcessMouse: trying mouse action rightclick

I then pushed tab to clear gui after right mouse click

(when I pushed tab?)
22:12:35 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0x17, sym: 0x0009, unicode: 0x0009, modifier: 0x0
22:12:35 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: OnKey: tab (0xf009) pressed, action is FullScreen

I then pushed 'O' twice, then 'X'
22:12:36 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0x20, sym: 0x006f, unicode: 0x006f, modifier: 0x0
22:12:36 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: OnKey: o (0xf04f) pressed, action is CodecInfo
22:12:37 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0x20, sym: 0x006f, unicode: 0x006f, modifier: 0x0
22:12:37 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: OnKey: o (0xf04f) pressed, action is CodecInfo
22:12:38 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0x35, sym: 0x0078, unicode: 0x0078, modifier: 0x0
22:12:38 T:139887087470464 DEBUG: OnKey: x (0xf058) pressed, action is Stop

Then I pushed 'S', and choose exit.



I searched the bugtracker and the forum and didn't find anything regarding this issue other than: 176928 (thread) but it is not quite the same.

Thanks for any help!
Rick
I believe that I figured this out. I'm using XFCE4 and I enabled "Activate Focus Stealing Prevention" in the Window Manager Tweaks and it seems to have fixed it. Perahps Kodi changed something between 13.2 and 14.0 in the way it deals with focus as I never had an issue with 13.2 before upgrading to 14.0? FYI

Thanks,
Rick
Kodi only takes keyboard input when in focus. Old behaviour was non standard.
Yeah, that makes perfect sense. But why is it losing it in the first place? I'm in Kodi full screen, it has focus, I start playback of a video and it loses it (evidently). Do I have a setting incorrect?

Thanks again,
Rick
Do you start kodi with: kodi --standalone?
No, should I be? I'm using the XFCE menu entry that Kodi installed during its setup. The machine does not boot into Kodi directly.