Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Basic question: how to set a source file path
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I've searched around for this but can't turn up the answer; it's possible I'm not using the right terms.

I'm new to Kodi and HTPCs in general, so this is a very basic question. I have all my saved TV programmes in a directory named "TV Shows" on a PC on my network, and the directory is shared with "Everybody".

TV SHOWS appears in the Transparency! homepage menu but when I select it, no files are found - and I can't work out where and how to set the correct path and add the source location.

My movie files (in a directory called "Movies" on the same computer and with the sharing set up in exactly the same way) do appear when MOVIES is selected. Unfortunately, I don't recall exactly how I set that up.

The PC is running Windows 7 and the HTPC Openelec.

Presumably I must be overlooking something obvious, but what is it please?

Many thanks.
Adding_video_sources (wiki)
The wiki has all the answers. MostlyBig Grin
Wgstarks, thanks for that, but I had in fact already read the Wiki entry and carried out the procedure it gives. The result is that now when I select VIDEOS from the homepage menu the resultant sub-menu now includes "TV Shows" along with all the other entries, and selecting it does indeed bring up the file list.

But what I would like is for the TV SHOWS item on the *main* menu to generate the same list - at the moment all I get is a blank directory.

The other main menu items *do* all work correctly, it's just TV SHOWS that doesn't.
Is your media on the same computer your running kodi ? or do you have the media stored on a NAS or another PC else where in the home ?
The files are on a separate PC with a wired Ethernet connection to the HTPC.
sounds like you didn't scan your tv shows to the library yet.

1) select VIDEOS of the home menu