Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Kodi quits unexpectadley
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, newbie here. I have been using XBMC for over a year, I have a password on my account on the master user. When I click on the Kodi icon the main page it opens for about 4 seconds, then says kodi quit unexpectedly. It doesn't give me time to log out of the master user so I can log into another user. I tried uninstalling kodi, and re-installing but it keeps giving me the same error. My question how can I fix kodi, or how can I delete all files associated with kodi so I can start fresh?
I hope I am posting this in the right thread.
To make a fresh start-
1) From Finder pull down the Go menu and select Go To Folder.
2) Paste this into the text box and press Return:
Code:
~/Library/Application Support
3) Move the folder named Kodi to another location, as well as the folder named XBMC (if present). You can just put it on your desktop or something, but I think it's a good idea not to delete it until your sure you don't need anything from it.
4) Launch Kodi.app. It should launch with no customizations. All your addons, user settings and your library database will be reset when you move the Kodi folder.

Edit: If you want to just get rid of the master user account, you should be able to go to ~/Library/Application Support/Kodi/userdata and open the file profiles.xml. Highlight the contents of the file and paste this in place of it-
Code:
<profiles>
    <lastloaded>0</lastloaded>
    <useloginscreen>false</useloginscreen>
    <autologin>-1</autologin>
    <nextIdProfile>1</nextIdProfile>
    <profile>
        <id>0</id>
        <name>Master user</name>
        <directory pathversion="1">special://masterprofile/</directory>
        <thumbnail pathversion="1"></thumbnail>
        <hasdatabases>true</hasdatabases>
        <canwritedatabases>true</canwritedatabases>
        <hassources>true</hassources>