Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Help needed to use Texture Cache Maintenance utility
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hello i'm new to spmc/kodi and i would like to use this to clean my thumbnails. I have a fire tv with spmc 14.1

i just don't understand how to use this so if someone can help i would really appreciate it

So far i i downloaded texturecache.py, and also downloaded python. i enabled web server and created a password on my fire tv.

Do i create a texturecache.cfg now? i dont know what to write.

so if anyone can help me write the texturecache.cfg i would really appreciate it

i am just trying to trim down the thumbnails folder and delete unused thumbnails

so far i got this

sep = |
userdata = ~/.kodi/userdata
dbfile = Database/Textures13.db
ebserver.port = 8080
webserver.username =
webserver.password =
I'm in the same boat. The instructions are for professional coders or people with advanced computer science degrees. I got as far as installing python. I was proud that I figured out how to run the "hello world" script. However, it seems that's just the beginning. I have no idea what to do next nor how to even tell python what to do. I just want to clear out my 2GB of crap Kodi has been building up. This is insane. At least the illegal maintenance addons are simple.
Found a solution: by deleting the thumbnail folder and then letting Kodi repopulated it, the folder size went from 2.03gb down to 69mb. And I didn't even have to learn a new computer language. These instructions worked for me:

http://www.htpcbeginner.com/clear-kodi-t...ils-cache/
I'm not really sure where or what the difficulty is.

1. Install Python (if required)
2. Install texturecache.py (as instructed in the support thread).
3. Run it as described.

On a Linux system that already has Python installed you can be up and running in 10 seconds flat.