Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Streaming video stutters intermitantly after upgrading to XBMC 2.0.0?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi guys.. this is my first post here and i'd like to say thanks to all the guys who put in the hard work for building imo the best media centre money doesn't buy!

I have a small problem now.. i've been using xbmc for a few years now.. but i've never had a problem streaming movies over my network. I have my pc running xp pro plugged into my small cable router which is also plug into my xbox and my modem.

Now ever since i upgraded to v2.0 my videos(which are shared on my pc) don't seem to stream correctly.. every now and then there is a slight stutter when playing back on xbmc. like a half-second pause every couple of minutes.

This primarily happens when streaming avi & mov files.

I've tried maxing out the cache sizes on xbmc video/audio but i still have the same problem.. does anyone know what could be causing this?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Dre
This may or may not be your problem, but either way, its good to do... double check your switch configuration. If it doesnt allow you to hard set the ports to 100/full (which most dont), then be sure to set all your devices to auto speed and duplex. A mismatch between auto mode and 100/full usually puts the auto side into 100/half mode which can cause throughput issues.
Dre,
Second what kraqh3d said...
Also, as I just discovered, try unplugging the power on your switch/router for a few seconds, as I have found this can help w/ speed issues w/ my Linksys.

Good luck!
jc
thanks guys.. i'll give it a whirl tonight.
I tried both ideas and they didn't seem to fix the problem.. 700mb avi's play fine most of the time.. but i just tried a 200mb avi and it started stuttering hard! never had the problem before with the same file before v2.0.. weird?