Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: FrequencySwitcher addon for android box
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am relatively new to the world of Kodi. A friend wrote down a list of instructions a a note to help me to setup up my experience. One of the instructions was to install this addon called FrequencySwitcher (website address below). However, I don't seem to understand what benefit it would give to me? It looks a bit technical can someone knowledgeable explain what the benefit of this would be for my viewing experience?

Many thanks

Frequency Switcher Addon
Basically to get as close as possible to a smooth video playback experience with various types of Video content without having to reconfigure the Android GUI display refresh rate all the time.
You are limited to 24, 50 and 60Hz Output refresh rates with AMlogic and Rockchip devices. 60Hz only on the Amazon Fire TV + Stick and even the new NVIDIA Shield believe it or not. Although Frame rate switching is a built in feature of the new Android 5.0 Lollipop OS.

fps = Frames per second

Most movies display at 23.976fps (24p)
Most TV in Europe / UK / Oz / NZ is 25, 30, 29.97 or 50fps
TV in the States is usually 29.97 or 30fps

SPMC or Kodi Isengard actually has support already built into it to Frequency switch to the closest matching valid TV display output refresh rate based on the Frame Rate of the source video content being played. This works with AMlogic SoC's and some Rockchip devices.

See the link below to get details of the correct permission to set for SPMC and Kodi Isengard Auto-Frame rate setup:
http://spmc.semperpax.com/

You also have to enable:
Kodi > Settings > System > Video > Playback > Adjust display refresh rate to match video > On Start/Stop