Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Looking to upgrade my htpc graphics card.

Would either of these handle 4k and her etc ?

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-strix-nvidia-...Ntt=nvidia

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-nvidia-geforc...141644.prd
(2018-01-11, 21:25)zorg2000k Wrote: [ -> ]Looking to upgrade my htpc graphics card.

Would either of these handle 4k and her etc ?

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-strix-nvidia-...Ntt=nvidia

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-nvidia-geforc...141644.prd
 My understanding is that both would work.  I currently have the GTX 1050Ti 4GB, and it can handle 4K and HDR.  Like brazen1 has mentioned before, that is a low to medium powered graphics card for 4K and HDR.  The GTX 1060 GB can most definitely handle 4K and HDR.

Regards,

Bart
(2018-01-11, 21:25)zorg2000k Wrote: [ -> ]Looking to upgrade my htpc graphics card.

Would either of these handle 4k and her etc ?

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-strix-nvidia-...Ntt=nvidia

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-nvidia-geforc...141644.prd
And don't forget it's not just about your hardware if you plan on running longer length HDMI cables then you might want to have a read at This
(2018-01-11, 18:30)luci5r Wrote: [ -> ]....

Or, is it just MadVR/MPC which won't do HDR on GT 1030? Is there some other way to support HDR on GT 1030? 
 I'm using a GT1030 w/HDMI 2.0 output to a 4K HDR TV. With the latest nvidia drivers I can play HDR movies in MPC-BE w/madvr (HVEC encoded 2160p 20-50gb files) without any issues. I'm a plex user, but I see no reason why this wouldn't work through Kodi. That said, any 4K image processing or high quality upscaling are not tasks you want to throw at this card.
(2018-01-11, 22:52)bjoroy Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-01-11, 18:30)luci5r Wrote: [ -> ]....

Or, is it just MadVR/MPC which won't do HDR on GT 1030? Is there some other way to support HDR on GT 1030? 
 I'm using a GT1030 w/HDMI 2.0 output to a 4K HDR TV. With the latest nvidia drivers I can play HDR movies in MPC-BE w/madvr (HVEC encoded 2160p 20-50gb files) without any issues. I'm a plex user, but I see no reason why this wouldn't work through Kodi. That said, any 4K image processing or high quality upscaling are not tasks you want to throw at this card. 
 Thank you SO much for your response! That is very promising!! And I agree with you - plex/kodi should not matter as playback is being handled by MPC/MadVR. I'm only going to be using MPC/MadVR playback for UHD files. No upscaling.

Quick question:
- When you say "latest nVidia driver", I'm assuming you mean 390.65?
- Would it be possible for you to share your nVidia Control Panel (especially the 'Change Resolution' tab) and MadVR settings (unless they are exactly the same as posted by brazen1 in this thread)?

Thanks so much again. I'm hoping to be able to configure & test later this evening.
(2018-01-11, 21:25)zorg2000k Wrote: [ -> ]Looking to upgrade my htpc graphics card.

Would either of these handle 4k and her etc ?

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-strix-nvidia-...Ntt=nvidia

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-nvidia-geforc...141644.prd
I have been offered a Geforce NVIDIA GTX 960 4GB card for £30 , would this be able to handle 4K HDR ?

Thanks for the help
(2018-01-11, 23:13)luci5r Wrote: [ -> ]Quick question:
- When you say "latest nVidia driver", I'm assuming you mean 390.65?
- Would it be possible for you to share your nVidia Control Panel (especially the 'Change Resolution' tab) and MadVR settings (unless they are exactly the same as posted by brazen1 in this thread)?
Hi,
Yes, 390.65. These drivers lets madvr engage HDR on the TV on playback and goes back to "normal" when you exit. My NV Control panel: Resolution 3840x2160 @ 60hz RGB 8-bit 0-255. The HDR switch is turned OFF in windows display settings (Win 10 FCU). Madvr settings are exactly the same as described through a series of screenshots a few pages back Smile
(2018-01-12, 11:16)bjoroy Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-01-11, 23:13)luci5r Wrote: [ -> ]Quick question:
- When you say "latest nVidia driver", I'm assuming you mean 390.65?
- Would it be possible for you to share your nVidia Control Panel (especially the 'Change Resolution' tab) and MadVR settings (unless they are exactly the same as posted by brazen1 in this thread)?
Hi,
Yes, 390.65. These drivers lets madvr engage HDR on the TV on playback and goes back to "normal" when you exit. My NV Control panel: Resolution 3840x2160 @ 60hz RGB 8-bit 0-255. The HDR switch is turned OFF in windows display settings (Win 10 FCU). Madvr settings are exactly the same as described through a series of screenshots a few pages back Smile 
 Perfect!!! Thank you so much for your response. You solved a major query for me. I'll be setting everything up & testing this weekend & will report back - but thanks a lot for getting back to me.
(2018-01-12, 09:17)zorg2000k Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-01-11, 21:25)zorg2000k Wrote: [ -> ]Looking to upgrade my htpc graphics card.

Would either of these handle 4k and her etc ?

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-strix-nvidia-...Ntt=nvidia

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-nvidia-geforc...141644.prd
I have been offered a Geforce NVIDIA GTX 960 4GB card for £30 , would this be able to handle 4K HDR ?

Thanks for the help 
 Yes.  It's the card I use.  I also overclock it using the software at the bottom of the page which allows me more memory for a little extra madVR settings essentially opening it up to 4.5GB.

https://www.evga.com/articles/00914/evga...x-960-4gb/

These are the only overclock settings I changed:
GPU Clock Offset = + 50MHz
Mem Clock Offset = + 520MHz
(2018-01-12, 19:04)brazen1 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-01-12, 09:17)zorg2000k Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-01-11, 21:25)zorg2000k Wrote: [ -> ]Looking to upgrade my htpc graphics card.

Would either of these handle 4k and her etc ?

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-strix-nvidia-...Ntt=nvidia

http://www.very.co.uk/asus-nvidia-geforc...141644.prd
I have been offered a Geforce NVIDIA GTX 960 4GB card for £30 , would this be able to handle 4K HDR ?

Thanks for the help  
 Yes.  It's the card I use.  I also overclock it using the software at the bottom of the page which allows me more memory for a little extra madVR settings essentially opening it up to 4.5GB.

https://www.evga.com/articles/00914/evga...x-960-4gb/

These are the only overclock settings I changed:
GPU Clock Offset = + 50MHz
Mem Clock Offset = + 520MHz 
Thanks for the info. I'll pick this up tomorrow and have a play with the settings throughout this post, thanks
Hello brazen1,

I finally got around to playing with the settings you provided, and while the render times are on average 28 ms, madvr shows 1 repeat frame every 4.8 minutes, so I guess I still need to lower some settings to have better performance. I really don't know whether my graphics card is not powerful enough or whether the 4K rips I am trying to play are bad or especially difficult.

Another issue I am having is that I can't select RGB full 12 bits anymore. When I choose YCbCr 422, it only shows 8 bits as an option. I don't know if this is due to the driver version, I will go back to 385.69 and see what happens.

Finally, even though my 4K rips are supposed to be HDR, when I press Display on my Sony TV's menu, it shows 4K resolution, but not HDR. I am not sure whether this is related to the issue of the 8 bits or not.

I also noticed that I can no longer turn on HDR and WCG in Windows 10. I am now running Windows 10 17074.

Any ideas or suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Bart
Guys,

So I finally set everything up and tested and retested, and unfortunately my GT 1030 is letting me down.

No matter what settings I configure in MadVR, I'm getting tremendous lag in 4K UHD HDR playback. Basically unwatchable.

So here's my question:

What is the absolute lowest settings I can configure for madVR? I'd like to start there and work my way through. Unfortunately there isn't a "low" button so I don't know what is low and what is high.

Appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks.
Hi. I find it only now this interesting  thread.
update frequency, why at 60Hz and not at 23Hz for 2160p?  I have GPU Nvidia 1080Ti and Oled Tv 4K LG-55C7V, as a setting I have always left 23Hz.
this as a beginning .
(2018-01-14, 04:46)bsoriano Wrote: [ -> ]Another issue I am having is that I can't select RGB full 12 bits anymore. When I choose YCbCr 422, it only shows 8 bits as an option. I don't know if this is due to the driver version, I will go back to 385.69 and see what happens.
 I try to guess ...The reason why this change is not displayed you're on a  update frequency 60Hz ?  try to set  23 or 24Hz with  YCbCr 422 12 bits available for activate.
One frame repeat after a few minutes is normal.  This is why many use a custom timing mode either via madVR (best) or NCP (easy).  Last I tried, it limited everything to 8bit so I stopped using custom timings since I really never notice the frame repeat unless I'm looking for it.  If it was more often, it would drive me up the wall.  Thankfully it isn't.  Lowering settings isn't going to eliminate it.  It's because every display 'times' the sync differently.  (Roughly) the spec for the refresh rate on a display is 24Hz.  The FPS (frame rate) for most titles is 23.976.  There is a very small difference there.  24 vs 23.976.  That difference catches up every few minutes.  Nothing to do with your GPU or your rips. 

I have no issue selecting 12bit using driver 390.65 and have tested that it continues switching from 8bit Desktop to 10/12bit Video automatically as usual.  If the way I showed you how to achieve this isn't working for you, there are lots of other ways.  If you are presently at RGB FULL 8bit 60Hz, select 30Hz.  Now select 12bit.  Finally, go back to 60Hz.  It will change back to 8bit as it should for Desktop mode but when a Video mode is started, it will automatically change to 10/12 bit as it should.

You should NEVER turn HDR and advanced color switch on.  We don't want Windows to tell your display to switch or add HDR.  We want madVR to tell the display to use its HDR mode.  Fwiw, I can still manually turn it on.  No idea why you can't but who cares?  IT SHOULD NOT BE ON WHEN YOU ARE WATCHING A VIDEO - EVER.  HDR is something you want your display to do..... NOT Windows.

Plenty have been suggesting that a 1030 is an entry level GPU and not strong enough to apply madVR with any reasonable outcomes.  I don't think it even meets Netflix minimum requirements?  It's been suggested many times to obtain a GPU with at least 4GB of memory.  You could try overclocking it although it may make no difference.  Try it and see.  I think the lowest settings would be bilinear or DXVA?  Not sure, experiment.  You could also start checking off the 'trade quality for performance' options.

We use 60Hz instead of 23Hz initially because we are using Windows Desktop mode and not only Video mode.  23Hz on desktop introduces lag especially mouse, GUI's, etc.  Desktop is designed to be used at 60Hz for many things such as scrolling the Kodi library.  But when video starts, refresh rate automatically switches to 23Hz IF 'match refresh rate' is used.  Match refresh rate is in Kodi and madVR settings.  When finished, it goes back to 60Hz.  This way motion is perfectly smooth matching refresh rate of source like slow panning scenes such as beginning of Cowboys and Aliens or The Wrestler.  All video is perfectly smooth. 

Some displays are only 60Hz at best and not as advertised (120Hz or more).  You must check reality.  In this case they have a problem with 12 missing frames because 60 is not perfectly divisible by 24 (while 120 is perfectly divisible by 24).  So, 3:2 Pulldown is used to add missing 12 frames at the expense of terrible motion.  To correct, 60Hz display users mismatch refresh rate of source and always use 60Hz GPU setting and apply 'Smooth Motion' setting in madVR to help eliminate judder but it is not as perfect as using a 120Hz or higher refresh rate display to begin with.  Far from it imo.