Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: 3D Playback - Simple
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
OK, I am wondering if there is a SIMPLE explanation on how to create playable 3D files for playback in Kodi.

I am new to Kodi and previously have only used Windows MCE, which for regular file watching was fine, but for 3D........fugeddaboudit. What I need to know is what types of 3D content can Kodi play when ripped to a file share. What format.....MKV, etc? This "SBS" and similar terms are non-sensical to me. I prefer not to be stuck with a command line interface of some sort to make this happen. I own AnyDVD-HD, CloneBD, MakeMKV and I have considered other options, which I would be happy to buy if they would help me find an easy solution.

I got Kodi installed and working for basic playback easily. Works great! However, I would like to know how to play 3D movies. I have been here:

http://kodi.wiki/view/3D

It isn't written in English. If I can establish that, what process/programs do I need to create said files? I have searched the forums and even Googled this and have gotten various bits and pieces, but nothing comprehensive that is less than a couple years old, then it is still written in gibberish. I have searched the Kodi forums as well, but I can't just search for "3D or "3-D" because the terms are too short. I also searched for "3-d playback". No luck. I found the above link in the Wiki, but it still doesn't tell me much useful for a novice.

I am hoping that there is a forum, post, link or tutorial.....somewhere....that can tell me this in plain English.

Thanks in advance!