Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Help Connect Kodi (OpenElec) to Synology DS not on LAN
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Kodi 14.2
Synology DS412+ running DSM 5.2-5592 Update 1

I am trying to stream video from my Synology to my HTPC which is not on my LAN.
I am not very technical but have been reading and experimenting with nearly every connection method unsuccessfully.

Can someone help point me in the most logical way to accomplish this - ideally with step-by-step instructions? I just can't find a guide that works in the Wiki's (Kodi, OpenElec, Synology).

Thank you!

Boaz
I just realized Kodi-15.0 Isengard released so updating to that but still need help configuring new share connection to my Synology DS please!

EDIT: Requires BETA OpenElec-6.0 but I will stay with stable build OpenElec-5.0.8.
Well...I'm a bit confuesd and I think you should be a bit specific.

Correct me, if I'm wrong...

You want to stream a video from a NAS which is not in your LAN but it is your own NAS? In which LAN is it? Do you use a cable to connect? If yes...then it's in your LAN. Connection a cable to a NAS means, you made a local network which LAN means (LAN = Local Area Network).

Or is it a NAS from your friend and you want to connect over the internet?

Please explain a bit more
Sorry, my NAS (Synology DS) is at home on my LAN.
I stream video to my iPhone (outside my LAN) using the Synology DS-Video app which works great.
I want to stream video to my parents HTPC which is the machine referenced in the original post. They are retired and travel in an RV across the country so I'm trying to configure their HTPC to connect to my Synology DS.
Thank you David1977!