Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: How do update to Kodi 15 (isengard) on RPi2 with OpenElec
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Is there a guide somewhere? Total noob question, I know.

n
Sorry to be dumb. I'm also trying to update kodi. I've
1) Download v15 tar.gz file
2) unzipped it to a .tar file (although windows shows it as a .tar file folder, not a file)
3) Copied it into update folder on my pi
4) Rebooted

Sadly, nothing happens. It all just stays in the update folder and stays stubbornly stuck at v14.2. Have I done something wrong (well obviously, but what!). I am correct that openelec and kodi need separate updates?

It's driving me mad!
update- finally got it to start updating...but then fails with 'missing kernel'. Not sure what I've done wrong here?
(2015-08-19, 11:31)Stonster Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry to be dumb. I'm also trying to update kodi. I've
1) Download v15 tar.gz file
2) unzipped it to a .tar file (although windows shows it as a .tar file folder, not a file)
3) Copied it into update folder on my pi
4) Rebooted

What file are you downloading - tar.gz files haven't been distributed for quite a while now, certainly not official releases, or those from myself or popcornmix.

If you want the latest OpenELEC Isengard build, try the unofficial build in the following thread:

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=234678
I think Stonster's problem is that if you open the Google Drive link to the tar file it presents itself as a folder structure. If you click on the top level folder it will show you a tar.gz file inside.

What you need to do after opening the Google Drive link is click on the downward-facing arrow in the black bar at the top to download the complete tar file.