Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: skin helper service
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2016-01-18, 21:01)marcelveldt Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-01-18, 19:06)badaas Wrote: [ -> ]log using latest helper on beta repo: https://www.dropbox.com/s/nclwl3gypjp53do/kodi.zip?dl=0

This log is NOT from the latest skinhelper...
I have a feeliong I know what's going on. Did you install the addon from git by zip maybe ?

In that case you will now have the addon duplicated on your system.
Never install the github zips directly in Kodi because that will create a second instance of the addon which is now "fighting" with the original one :-)

Look in your Kodi addons folder if you have a duplicated version of script.skin.helper.service in there, possibly with a "-master" prefix (as that is what happens if you get the github zip).
Remove the duplicated version and try again.

Latest beta skinhelper version is 1.0.32

yes it is.
i delete content of aaddon/skin.helper and replace with git.
i have '1' instance running
(2016-01-19, 00:34)badaas Wrote: [ -> ]i delete content of aaddon/skin.helper and replace with git.
i have '1' instance running
If you installed it that way, did you also make sure that all of its dependencies are installed?
(2016-01-19, 00:34)badaas Wrote: [ -> ]i delete content of aaddon/skin.helper and replace with git.
i have '1' instance running

OK, thanks for the confirmation. The reason I asked was because your log stated version 1.0.30 of the addon, while 1.0.32 is the latest.
You did restart Kodi after manually overwriting the files, right ?
Can you please do so one more time, so grab the latest version from Git and overwrite the files to be absolutely sure you're on the latest ?

Also, one other thing to look at is that you mentioned the getcast method being slow. Note that it will Always take 1 or 2 seconds to load a listing from a plugin path, I can't help that, it's the python interface that adds a little extra overhead. The getcast method will even be slower if you enable the thumbs retrieval, but I'm sure you're already aware of that.
(2016-01-19, 01:14)badaas Wrote: [ -> ]this ok https://github.com/marcelveldt/script.sk...f11a4f4be1

not okay past that version
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nclwl3gypjp53do/kodi.zip?dl=0

This log is even from an older version. Did you send me the correct logfile ?
I think something is messed up on your system, I'm sorry. The logs you post are all not from the current version of the script.
(2016-01-19, 00:32)marcelveldt Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-01-19, 00:13)meowmoo Wrote: [ -> ]hi, i got a question about
Code:
Window(Home).Property(SkinHelper.Music.TrackList)
the readme says
Code:
Returns all tracks (in the library) for the selected album or artist, separated by [CR] in the format tracknumber - title
but i dont get any Tracknumers.

Do you have the tracknumbers in your ID3 tags of your songs (and thus scraped into Kodi library) ?
It will only show the tracknumber if that info is actually present in the library

Sure, all tagged with MusicBrainz

Image

there show up everywhere else in Kodi
Hi Marcelveldt,

Just a quick post to say : thank you Smile

I've started to mod a skin, and your work/script is just amazing.

Cheers
(2016-01-18, 21:01)marcelveldt Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-01-18, 19:06)badaas Wrote: [ -> ]log using latest helper on beta repo: https://www.dropbox.com/s/nclwl3gypjp53do/kodi.zip?dl=0

Look in your Kodi addons folder if you have a duplicated version of script.skin.helper.service in there, possibly with a "-master" prefix (as that is what happens if you get the github zip).
Remove the duplicated version and try again.

It's also important to say, that renaming the .zip file from github,which I noticed many users does, is also wrong way, because it still extract the files to "-master" folder,
so be careful with it also.
Hi Marcel,

Just wanted to know if you already planned to push the <onselect> option for Skin.SetString feature ?
So I will synchronize the BETA testing of my Designer V2 the same time.

Thanks Smile
(2016-01-19, 01:30)marcelveldt Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-01-19, 01:14)badaas Wrote: [ -> ]this ok https://github.com/marcelveldt/script.sk...f11a4f4be1

not okay past that version
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nclwl3gypjp53do/kodi.zip?dl=0

This log is even from an older version. Did you send me the correct logfile ?
I think something is messed up on your system, I'm sorry. The logs you post are all not from the current version of the script.

I have one kodi install
I have one script.skin.helper.service dir
I installed the version that broke for me NOT the latest as latest does not error but is REALLY SLOW.
So I am trying to gather where your script stopped working FOR ME for you to see.

AI: I have also installed helper via letting it update via kodi. Unless you added a dependancy that I/kodi somehow skipped by jumping a version then I am at a loss.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nclwl3gypjp53do/kodi.zip?dl=0

that is log from latest helper updated by kodi from emby beta repo.
using kodi jarvis beta 5 also.
(2016-01-19, 03:04)meowmoo Wrote: [ -> ]there show up everywhere else in Kodi

Just looked at the code and spotted an error. Just fixed it on Git.
(2016-01-19, 18:39)Jayz2K Wrote: [ -> ]Just wanted to know if you already planned to push the <onselect> option for Skin.SetString feature ?
So I will synchronize the BETA testing of my Designer V2 the same time.

Currently ironing out the latest issues to make sure it's stable and then I'll request an update on the kodi repo later this week.
(2016-01-20, 00:47)marcelveldt Wrote: [ -> ]Currently ironing out the latest issues to make sure it's stable and then I'll request an update on the kodi repo later this week.

Sure, not pushing at all. Just want to synchronise with the repo Update since it's not easy telling end users to use git versions and deal with "often" twin instances of addons giving weird results ... You know what I mean Wink
(2016-01-19, 19:32)badaas Wrote: [ -> ]I installed the version that broke for me NOT the latest as latest does not error but is REALLY SLOW.
So I am trying to gather where your script stopped working FOR ME for you to see.

Just been testing -again-. Installed latest version of your skin from git, latest skinhelper from git.
The getcast method returns the items within 500 milliseconds, if in the cache it's even just a few milliseconds.
Are you the only one seeing this issue ? Does Ian get the same results ?