Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Asus Ion replacement
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I've been using an acer box with the old Nvidia Ion GPU for several years with open elec. Its run awesome but its now beginning to choke on atypical encodings and openelec is going to stop supporting it soon. So I'm looking for a replacement.

How I use it
1) Primarily I stream movies and TV off a NAS (robust gigabit wired network). Many of these are my blu rays I've burned as .ISO. No 3D. Movies are played via HDMI to a Denon reciever which handles the audio (so pass through audio will work fine). The denon switches the source to a projector.
2) Some ad-on use- mostly video streamers, trailers etc. Also run some basic home automation with the ISY add on
3) This is a home theater box being used for a projection system controlled solely by a MCE remote and the whole thing is in a cabinet.
4) Occasionally play some music with visualizations

What I want
1) Fast interface with responsive support of all skins
2) Need seamless playback of all formats. It must be able to do blu-ray .ISO and ideally be able to handle the menu system
3) Some future proofing with 4k
4) Play well with the MCE remote or ideally its own built in remote reciver
5) Suspend or hibernate without issue (this was a big pain in my Asus that took awhile to lock down)
6) small form factor (I love my current form factor)
7) Run cool and quiet. The room is really quiet and even in a cabinet I can hear the Asus fan sometimes. So ideally fanless,but.. the cabinet can heat up. I have an arctic box that runs silent and cool so I know it can be done
8) I'd like to keep it around $200 but I'd be willing to go up quite a bit for the right device

Thanks
M