Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Hardware advise
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I'm looking for some advice regarding the purchase of a kodi based device to either buy or build
Needs to fit these requirements/suggestions:
  • 150+ gigs HDD space
  • 1080p60 20mbit/s playback
  • ethernet port/usb ports
  • Don't care about the OS but this is my first time using kodi

The Zotac CI320 looks really interesting but I don't know what I would do about the HDD space I need (it has an eSATA port though?)

Thanks
Cheapest:
- RPi2 (HD Audio decode) or C1+ (HEVC capable) + a usb HDD or external NAS.

Faster and HD Audio passthrough capable:
- ASUS Chromebox with an attached USB HDD, external NAS is preferred tho.
- Zotac BI320 (barebones) if you want a Chromebox clone that can house a HDD internally

Newest:
- ASRock Beebox (Braswell) is much preferred if you can afford it due to 4K HEVC Hardware decoding at up to 30Hz
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=227363

Run OpenELEC on all of them. Smile
Thanks!

How do I go about getting an NAS?
I would just get a WD My Cloud 2/3/4/6TB Personal Cloud Storage NAS and be done with it.
Easy to setup.

Note this has to be Ethernet connected to a Router.

Other cheaper options are connecting a usb HDD directly to those type of Home Routers that allow such usb HDD sharing.
Thanks!

I think I will go with the barebones BI320, is 8gigs of ram overkill?

I'm looking at this:

Crucial 8GB Single DDR3 1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) CL11 SODIMM 204-Pin 1.35V/1.5V Notebook Memory CT102464BF160B
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006YG8...PDKIKX0DER

I could go for a 250gig samsung evo SSD and install it inside

I do already have one of those WD my cloud drives but as backup