Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Would you use a FREE home automation program with KODI, including voice control?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I'm new to KODI, but I am an expert in Home Automation and can integrate literally anything in my home. Everything from my dust collector in my garage to my: doorbell, mail box, Google Voice (via OBi110), lighting, ceiling fans, AV components, security, HVAC and even cell phone GPS location is integrated into a single seamless platform, allowing for a common place for all control logic and scenes (e.g. no logic exists in a separate location such as within Tasker, universal remotes, etc...). Even the voice control discussed below is done in a generic and automatic fashion (e.g. no need to define names of switches, exact phrasing of commands, etc...).

Since I believe in a common platform so that everything in my home can work together, I've also developed an easy to set up home automation module for KODI; it even includes auto library import for all native media content types, two way communication (so events are always kept in sync within the home automation program), allows you to send message such as caller id data to KODI, etc... The home automation platform being used is completely free, but runs on Windows and is called Motorola Premise Home Control. It is a very open platform and end-user friendly, allowing you to mix z-wave with X10 with insteon, IR with Serial control with IP control, but keep the control logic in a common object oriented language and GUI.

Premise can truly automate anything you can think of and even has an SDK in addition to vbscript support (for us non-professional programmers): http://cocoontech.com/forums/page/home-a...premise-r3

I've attached a poll on this thread to see how many would actually download and install, a free Windows based program for home automation