Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Video card recommendation for noob???
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey everyone. I'm hoping this isn't an inappropriate type of question to ask in this forum. I am pretty much a total linux noob here could use some assistance/suggestions. I have setup a home media system using Ubuntu Mate 15.04 as the OS. The computer is connected to a 42" TV via HDMI cable for video and sound.

I was given the computer from a friend when the original HD died in it. It's a pretty basic computer: Gateway DX4860-UR15P. 4 GBs RAM, an integrated Intel video card with HDMI output. I've updated the HD to a 4 TB model and have some TV show and some Movies on there. Using Kodi (intalled 14x which a couple of weeks ago updated to 15x).

The installation/setup went fine. Once I figured out some of the settings for sound (through the HDMI connection) it was fine. I use this almost exclusively to watch the TV shows and movies. I will occassionally stream a sporting event (MLB game or NFL game).

The only real issue I have is the video card. If watching an SD TV show it's not usually noticalbe but on the movies or an HD TV show I'll see lines across the screen. The larger the video size (usually meaning more resolution) the more noticalble. So an old episide of Big Bang you might not see the lines at all but when watching LORT: Return of the King you'll see it a lot.

I figured it was the video card. I picked up an MSI card (1 GB) but that made it worse. I installed the card, downloaded the drivers (I tried the proprietary and the open source). But using that card I seem to be seeing the lines/black boxes more than with the integrated video card. I don't know if I should (can IHuh) diable the onboard video? Or is it just too cheap a card?