Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: what flavor linux for my needs?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
i have been using kodi on mac for a few years but i am almost clueless about linux.
i have been reading about linux/ubuntu and installed it on an old lap top for testing and have it and kodi working well.
i just picked up a chrome box and i need advice on what flavor of linux i should install.
ubuntu looks to be overkill but not sure if kodibuntu will meet my needs.

my goals are:
lite and fast small os version
kodi
web browser=opera or firefox
vpn=i use pia service
vnc= for my iPhone remote app to control lodi and the web browser
access to shared mac drives
optional: utorrent

one last question, will a 16gb ssd and 2gb ram be enough?

sorry for asking such basic questions but i want to start on the right foot.

thank you for any help and advice.
See the chromebox thread in the hw forum. This has been answered already (~ 50 times :-))
thanks for the reply.

i have read through the thread and search a few times. i will look again.
in my defense it does get a little overwhelming sorting through the info, but i understand your post.
will dig some more.
thanks again
I'll spare you a new set of reading glasses. Just install Openelec and be done with it.
@Soli

i was just reading your Post: #3402 in the chrome box threads about installing kodibuntu.

just when i think kodibuntu is the way to go you confuse the hell out of me.

a good web browser is a must as is vpn. from my reading openelect does not do a good job with these.

thanks for the reply
You write you are almost clueless about Linux, so I say go with Openelec. Someone made a nice chromium browser plugin over at openelec.tv that has HW accel.
o.k. i will read a bit more about openelec before i make a move.
thanks
Chromebox + openelec = perfection