Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: I think Rikomagic owners are beginning to feel abandoned
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Forgive me but I need to do a little griping.

I think I can speak for many rikomagic users RK3066 RK3188 RK3288 etc when I say, we are beginning to feel a bit abandoned.

I know that Koying has been disheartened by the level of support that he is getting from China. However he did make a comment back in July that he was working on a new MediaCodec that would be integrated to the main branch thus making SPMC unneeded.

http://freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-supp...post511643

However since July not one release notice on the blog, has referenced this.

I think the time has come to either say Rikomagic IS going to be supported, or its NOT going to be supported.

If it is, please look into getting Koying's upgrade implemented and note it on the blog.

If Rikomagic is NOT going to be supported, please take the YES off the hardware acceleration entries for Rikomagic on the WIKI.

Thanks.

Posting this to "Kodi related discussions" because this is not about features or need for specific Android help support or anything like that. This is about Rikomagic owners who are starting to feel ignored.
What are you talking about?

RK3066, RK3188, & RK3288 are SoCs/chipsets from Rockchip, not Rikomagic, and Kodi does support Rockchip SoCs/chipsets as long as the firmware is Android 4.2 or later.

Hardware acceleration in Kodi requires that the manufacturer firmware support Android's "MediaCodec API" from Google.

http://developer.android.com/reference/a...Codec.html

If the manufacturer firmware does not support Android's "MediaCodec API" from Google nor have Android 4.2 then there is nothing Kodi developers can do.

Outdated firmware/hardware can not be supported forever, so either complain to your hardware manufacturer who release the firmware or buy new hardware.
Last time I checked I was able to run Kodi very well on an RK3188 device. I thought the bigger issues were with the weird way audio passthrough was set up for Rockchip devices?
Just to confirm that Kodi works on RK3188 devices. The only thing we miss is related to 24p playback, since with dynamic refresh rate tweak from Sticky, it makes switch between 50p and 60p and when the content is 24p it switched television to 60p again nad there is a lag again. Smile

I would love to know if there is any chance to be fixed in the future. I know the problem is in the firmware, but I always hoped that some solution for changing only GPU driver solely will come true or possibly Kodi could recognize chipset in the installation and put the new one by itself. Rockchip rarely publish new firmwares and never tried to fix this annoying thing, which makes watching 24p content little bit unwatchable.
That's true that Kodi runs on Rockchip devices.
BUT, the only hardware acceleration works well is RKLibstagefright (Which not exist in official Kodi)!
When I use SPMC and enable RKLibstagefright the video is smooth and there is not any stuttering, but there is only mediacodec on official Kodi. When watching live tv via DVB-T, the video is black and there is only sound.
This video plays good (video+audio) only when hardware acceleration disabled on Kodi 15.2RC3. when enable the HW there is only audio.
1219750 (post)

Koying also wrote: "Most of SPMC is merged in Kodi besides the rockchip specifics"
http://spmc.semperpax.com/
This is why RK3XXX beginning to feel abandoned
I hear that Rockchip is "cock blocking" Koying about support. Rockchip needs to fix their firmware for MediaCodec so that a special system codec isn't needed anymore.
I know the problem is Rockchip and not Kodi, but Rockchip won't fix their firmware, they asked by the devices manufacturers to do so and they say "soon" for over a year...
So it'll be very good if RKlibStageFright will be built in in Kodi (maybe not in official release but in special for rockchip)
That most likely will not happen. Doing so just encourages Rockchip to not support their hardware. If their hardware does not support Kodi then they will get less sales, and that might be enough to motivate them to do a proper fix. Continuing to support RKlibstagefright or normal libstagefright is no longer practical. Even libstagefright was only supposed to be a temp fix that would be removed once MediaCodec was more stable, which it more or less is today.
I totally agree on what Ned said.

When I was still motivated to do specific Rockchip stuff, they just weren't supportive, by keeping their own rkffplayer closed.

Google itself recognize the value of Kodi and keeps adding media api to Android.
So, all soc makers have everything in their hand to make Kodi a pleasant experience using the standard Android apis. If they don't, THEY let their customers down...

Bottom line: rklibstagefright is there for anyone to pick up and improve if they want, but don't expect anything on my/kodi side... For the coming refactor of video playback in Kodi, libstagefright will be gone as well.
http://freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-supp...ent-inside

Could you consider to add mediacodec to advancesetting.xml?
Code:
<advancedsettings>
    <video>
        <mediacodec>
            <useavccodec>-1</useavccodec>
            <usevc1codec>-1</usevc1codec>
            <usevpxcodec>-1</usevpxcodec>
            <usemp4codec>-1</usemp4codec>
            <usempeg2codec>0</usempeg2codec>
        </mediacodec>
    </video>
</advancedsettings>
Currently only stagefright tags works.
If you want support for Rockchip, I think the only way to do so is to hurt their sales: adding warning in google play that rk3288 devices not fully supported, add warning in the first run in kodi, etc.
(2015-10-12, 18:19)Ben.Efrati Wrote: [ -> ]http://freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-supp...ent-inside

Could you consider to add mediacodec to advancesetting.xml?
Code:
<advancedsettings>
    <video>
        <mediacodec>
            <useavccodec>-1</useavccodec>
            <usevc1codec>-1</usevc1codec>
            <usevpxcodec>-1</usevpxcodec>
            <usemp4codec>-1</usemp4codec>
            <usempeg2codec>0</usempeg2codec>
        </mediacodec>
    </video>
</advancedsettings>
Currently only stagefright tags works.
If you want support for Rockchip, I think the only way to do so is to hurt their sales: adding warning in google play that rk3288 devices not fully supported, add warning in the first run in kodi, etc.

Are you saying that putting this bit of code in advanced settings will improve the performance of my RK3288 box with no problems? If so I will do it and report back if anybody is interested.

Also can someone please correct the Thread title to represent accurately what is being discussed here?
When RKlibstagefright not available my kodi doesn't able to play mpeg2 (only audio and black screen)
See this thread:
241944 (thread)

So I want to disable hardware acceleration for only mpeg2.

**I don't know if Mediacodec is better than no HW at all.

@JNRW, this code has no effect now because only stagefright tags are supported.
(2015-10-11, 16:52)Ben.Efrati Wrote: [ -> ]I know the problem is Rockchip and not Kodi, but Rockchip won't fix their firmware, they asked by the devices manufacturers to do so and they say "soon" for over a year...
So it'll be very good if RKlibStageFright will be built in in Kodi (maybe not in official release but in special for rockchip)

(2015-10-12, 18:19)Ben.Efrati Wrote: [ -> ]http://freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-supp...ent-inside

Could you consider to add mediacodec to advancesetting.xml?
Code:
<advancedsettings>
    <video>
        <mediacodec>
            <useavccodec>-1</useavccodec>
            <usevc1codec>-1</usevc1codec>
            <usevpxcodec>-1</usevpxcodec>
            <usemp4codec>-1</usemp4codec>
            <usempeg2codec>0</usempeg2codec>
        </mediacodec>
    </video>
</advancedsettings>
Currently only stagefright tags works.
If you want support for Rockchip, I think the only way to do so is to hurt their sales: adding warning in google play that rk3288 devices not fully supported, add warning in the first run in kodi, etc.

Maybe that is why Rockchip is building their own Kodi now.
Much better video playback, auto framerate switching, HD Audio support
https://github.com/zidootech/zidoo-kodi-...zidoo-15.1

Anyone know why official Kodi 15.2 rc1 for Android only shows UI at 1080p 11hz and not 30 or 60hz ?
Kodi 15.0 for Android still had correct framerate of 60hz.
Is it fixed in the latest nightly builds for Android?
Here is more discussion of the bug in Kodi
237315 (thread),
2102732 (post)
Rockchip didn't build this Kodi, this build done by zidoo (which is manufacturer of tvbox).
From README:
This is a special branch for RockChip rk3368 platform. First of all, you need the lastest verson of rk3368 sdk
It request a library name "librkffplayer.so", you can find it on lastest version rk3368 sdk. And the more important thing is, you need a device run with rk3368, such as Zidoo X6, which had deep modified to meet this new speicial version.
So I don't know if it's relevant for rk3288 and rk3188, there is no apk so I can't even test it.
Rockchip it NOT in anyway allowed to build their own Kodi if it's still called Kodi.
Pages: 1 2 3 4