Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: I think it's time to move on from ATV1?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been using my atv1 for a few years now, and once I made the switch to a NAS hard wired drive for my media things really got way better. But for some reason, the atv1 seems a bit sluggish these days. Inside, i did install the crystal HD card so it's no longer wireless, but the atv1 was hard wired all along.

Lately it seems that movies go a little jerky every once in a while, and oftentimes it takes 2 or 3 reboots to get rid of MOST of the jerky stuttering. I did take the advice to try openELEC and also installed on the atv1 HD rather than booting from the USB stick.

It's been pointed outbthatbthe once powerful atv1 is being displaced by newer, faster devices. So I'm looking around and what I want is something that will be easy to operates do update, use all my MP4 and mkv videos, and hopefully work with a simple remote rather than a keyboard. Is the raspberry pi my next media delivery device? Is there something as good or better?

Mike
(2015-10-26, 06:11)DrGrafix Wrote: [ -> ]I've been using my atv1 for a few years now, and once I made the switch to a NAS hard wired drive for my media things really got way better. But for some reason, the atv1 seems a bit sluggish these days. Inside, i did install the crystal HD card so it's no longer wireless, but the atv1 was hard wired all along.

Lately it seems that movies go a little jerky every once in a while, and oftentimes it takes 2 or 3 reboots to get rid of MOST of the jerky stuttering. I did take the advice to try openELEC and also installed on the atv1 HD rather than booting from the USB stick.