Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Google Play Music - From scratch
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
So no plans to be able to send a song from the Play Music Android app to your add-on (Share on Yatse does this with Google Play Exp add-on, and if you Share from Google Play on KORE it gives the option to Send to Kodi). Would be amazing if we could do that, and have it play on the add-on.

One other small feature request to the main add-on that would be amazing is a "Play Next" option. Like the one in the Google Play Music app and website. Rather than adding it to the end of the queue.

I often have a queue of songs that I like, and am happy with, but want to queue up one song to play next before going back to my playlist. Currently I would have to add to playlist and then go to the playlist on my phone and move it up to next.
(2017-09-10, 14:38)Abbaskip Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-09, 15:44)Tadly Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-09, 02:58)Abbaskip Wrote: [ -> ]Love the addon - but I've noticed in my playlists that every song shows as 0. instead of the song name. I then play the song and it plays, but with song name "stream" and no artist?
That's strange and shouldn't be that way. Are these songs you uploaded yourself or part of google?
Also, did you create those playlists yourself or are these shared ones?

(2017-09-09, 02:58)Abbaskip Wrote: [ -> ]Also - it seems loads of my uploaded music doesn't appear in my Library? For instance, I have essentially the full Bob Dylan discography, but when I go to My Library -> Artists -> Bob Dylan, one album with one song appears?
Are your uploaded songs properly tagged? I mean ID3 tags for Artist, Album, Trackname etc.
Thanks for the response. The first issue seems to have fixed itself now. The songs load with full names in the playlist now. However the second issue is still occurring. These were songs I uploaded myself and appear under the artist and album in My Library in the browser version of Play Music, however in the add-on in My Library-> Artists-> Bob Dylan only one album appears.

Interestingly Bob Dylan doesn't have a thumbnail picture either. It's like Google Play doesn't recognise who it is?
(2017-09-09, 15:44)Tadly Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-09, 02:58)Abbaskip Wrote: [ -> ]Any plans to more fully integrate as per the Google Music Exp add-on? Features like shuffle are pretty important to me. Also when you start a radio, it doesn't start on the song you select. The selection is clearly based on that song, but that song should also be first played. Finally, being able to share with Yatze or similar, and it playing the song on Kodi would be amazing
Shuffle can be done by kodi (while something is playing, open the current playlist "n" on the keyboard than locate "shuffle" or "random") hence there's no reason for me to do anything.
On that note, shuffle will be deactivated when starting radios as these are random already.

How a radio looks like is "decided" by google. Or to be more precises, by googles algorithm that determines what songs fall under the same category.
So no, I won't change anything regarding the structure of radios.
Thanks, it's strange with your add-on that when I do a radio it doesn't start with that song though? All Google implementations of Radio (browser and phone app) both start with the song that you "Radio". If yours is straight from Google's, why doesn't it act the same?

It has the song that you Radio in the playlist, it's just never first. That's a bit of a deal breaker for me using radio, as I will usually radio a song that I want to hear, then like similar music after that.

Edit: My issue with no shuffle is that I can't do it easily from a remote app (I use Kodi from remote, which I think most do) and as with the issue with Radio, I can't start an album from a certain song. I would like to go into an album and select a doing and say shuffle from here. It would play that song and then all others in the album in random order after it.

Edit 2: worked out how to shuffle from remote, but my issue remains that I can shuffle from a certain song (and radio doesn't start the song it's meant to as Google iterations of Radio do

Edit 3: found my a Bob Dylan. The albums all appear under Artist "Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash", but when in that Artist they're listed under Bob Dylan. So it's an error with where the add-on displays them.

Regarding radios.
You have to understand that google does NOT have a official API for google play music hence there're things that might not work exactly like they to with official apps.
There's not much I can do about it.

Regarding shuffle.
I do understand the convenience a context menu entry would bring but it's quite unconventional hence why I'm not going to.
This is something more fit for kodis core to implement (Just like kodi itself has a "Play all")

Regarding Bob Dylan.
This is why I asked if your music collection is properly tagged. If you don't know what I'm talking about, have a quick read here.
For "My Library -> Artists" I use the "Album Artist" rather than pure "Artist".
(2017-09-10, 14:53)Abbaskip Wrote: [ -> ]So no plans to be able to send a song from the Play Music Android app to your add-on (Share on Yatse does this with Google Play Exp add-on, and if you Share from Google Play on KORE it gives the option to Send to Kodi). Would be amazing if we could do that, and have it play on the add-on.
I don't think this is up to me. Kore and/or Yatse would have to implement support for my add-on.

(2017-09-10, 14:53)Abbaskip Wrote: [ -> ]One other small feature request to the main add-on that would be amazing is a "Play Next" option. Like the one in the Google Play Music app and website. Rather than adding it to the end of the queue.

I often have a queue of songs that I like, and am happy with, but want to queue up one song to play next before going back to my playlist. Currently I would have to add to playlist and then go to the playlist on my phone and move it up to next.
I actually would like this option myself but isn't something I should implement.
This should be a kodi-core feature just like "Play all" and "Queue" (Yes, these come from kodi itself)
I asked the team about it, let's see what they say.
(2017-09-11, 09:35)Tadly Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-10, 14:38)Abbaskip Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-09, 15:44)Tadly Wrote: [ -> ]That's strange and shouldn't be that way. Are these songs you uploaded yourself or part of google?
Also, did you create those playlists yourself or are these shared ones?

Are your uploaded songs properly tagged? I mean ID3 tags for Artist, Album, Trackname etc.
Thanks for the response. The first issue seems to have fixed itself now. The songs load with full names in the playlist now. However the second issue is still occurring. These were songs I uploaded myself and appear under the artist and album in My Library in the browser version of Play Music, however in the add-on in My Library-> Artists-> Bob Dylan only one album appears.

Interestingly Bob Dylan doesn't have a thumbnail picture either. It's like Google Play doesn't recognise who it is?
(2017-09-09, 15:44)Tadly Wrote: [ -> ]Shuffle can be done by kodi (while something is playing, open the current playlist "n" on the keyboard than locate "shuffle" or "random") hence there's no reason for me to do anything.
On that note, shuffle will be deactivated when starting radios as these are random already.

How a radio looks like is "decided" by google. Or to be more precises, by googles algorithm that determines what songs fall under the same category.
So no, I won't change anything regarding the structure of radios.
Thanks, it's strange with your add-on that when I do a radio it doesn't start with that song though? All Google implementations of Radio (browser and phone app) both start with the song that you "Radio". If yours is straight from Google's, why doesn't it act the same?

It has the song that you Radio in the playlist, it's just never first. That's a bit of a deal breaker for me using radio, as I will usually radio a song that I want to hear, then like similar music after that.

Edit: My issue with no shuffle is that I can't do it easily from a remote app (I use Kodi from remote, which I think most do) and as with the issue with Radio, I can't start an album from a certain song. I would like to go into an album and select a doing and say shuffle from here. It would play that song and then all others in the album in random order after it.

Edit 2: worked out how to shuffle from remote, but my issue remains that I can shuffle from a certain song (and radio doesn't start the song it's meant to as Google iterations of Radio do

Edit 3: found my a Bob Dylan. The albums all appear under Artist "Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash", but when in that Artist they're listed under Bob Dylan. So it's an error with where the add-on displays them.

Regarding radios.
You have to understand that google does NOT have a official API for google play music hence there're things that might not work exactly like they to with official apps.
There's not much I can do about it.
I understand that, but is there no way you can have the song that the radio was based on play first?
Quote:Regarding shuffle.
I do understand the convenience a context menu entry would bring but it's quite unconventional hence why I'm not going to.
This is something more fit for kodis core to implement (Just like kodi itself has a "Play all")

Regarding Bob Dylan.
This is why I asked if your music collection is properly tagged. If you don't know what I'm talking about, have a quick read here.
For "My Library -> Artists" I use the "Album Artist" rather than pure "Artist".
Thanks for answering my questions.

Regarding my ID3s, I'm very thorough and pedantic with them and have been since I first sorted my mp3s into directories and played them on early versions of Winamp.

Here are some screenshots of my iTunes library which is synced with Music Manager to Google. You can see album artist and artist are both Bob Dylan but nothing appears under Bob Dylan in the add-on.
Image
Image
I've enabled 2 factor authentication now and can't get the add-on to work with that at all.

Gives an error every time.

The error logs say invalid device ID - I've tried using the Android Device ID and the Google Service Framework (with other device ID apps call the Device ID) neither work.

EDIT: Got it working - thanks to your logs showing the valid device IDs. As an FYI, the app you link to on the Play Store refers to the Device ID that you're after as the Google Service Framework ID. This is what you probably should ask for in the sign in? The reason it didn't work for me when I used the GSF was because the app I used had it in all caps, and it seems it needs to be in all lower case.
This no longer installs. I get an error during installation. Logs at:
https://paste.kodi.tv/raw/lodifuredu
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13