Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Qnap nas kodi - can I use all skins, etc?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm debating on getting a 251+ Qnap and am wondering about the pre-installed kodi experience....can it do everything? Can I load good skins?
I would personally keep the two separate to be honest.
(2015-11-20, 20:21)bry- Wrote: [ -> ]I would personally keep the two separate to be honest.
+1. Use NAS for your media, and ideally scape & save with your media your posters, fanart & metadata (.nfo) for each movie or TV (I use TinyMediaManager for example), but let the Kodi box you're using do everything else.
uhm. forgive my ignorance but i'm totally new to as/router/media streaming world. I had a boxee and ext hdd before. so I'm flying blind.

so uh scape & save? kodi box?

how do I separate? don't I need to have an htpc then or chrome box I guess attached to each tv if I do that? Not sure best way to do it for simple avi/mkv movie watching.

soon many options Sad I just want to stream my movies to my tv, auto download torrents, have everything super pretty organized with metadata and fan art, etc. and stream music/movies to my iproducts. and backup stuff.
You don't have to use a tool like TinyMediaManager (tMM) or EmberMediaManager, but it helps if you do.

Here's a screenshot of how my movies live on my NAS. Each movie has its own folder. Now, here's a screenshot of what's inside each movie folder. I used Ember to scrape all this (and have now switched to tMM).

If you do above, then in Kodi, you just add each of your movie/TV sources, choose 'local only' scanning option, and let Kodi scan and add your libraries.

If you don't wish to do above, just name your movies & TV shows properly, choose online scan in Kodi, then scan. Kodi may incorrectly identify some movies & TV shows, but you can bring up content menu (right-click) for each and fix right from within Kodi.