Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Shield TV - Some issues with wake up, sleep and volume control
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have been using Kodi on five PCs in my network for quiet a few years now. While Windows as an OS was always too hard to administrate on so many PCs I was using OpenElec instead. Now the Shield TV box seems to deliver an even more interesting plattform since it offers a lightweight player, low power consumption and Android as OS, which gives the option to use nicely designed apps instead of only plain Kodi addons (Netflix, youtube etc.). But most of all it filled the last blind spot that OpenElec always seemed to have: Gaming. While Windows-PC would require expensive hardware (and cause the aforementioned administrative complexity) Android - and especiall the Shield TV Box with its graphic powers - delivers a siimple and affordable plattform for Kodi AND gaming, the ultimate media box.

So for christmas I got myself my first NVidia Shield TV box and currently I am still planning on buying another three to have the same plattform all over my home network for media playback and gaming. But switching from OpenElec to an Android box I currently have three big issues to solve which I need some advise for:

1. Previously I was able to wake up all my OpenElec PCs from standby remotely via WoL (wake on lan) and administrate them via SSH. Now I managed to get SSH-access to the Shield TV box as well by installing SSH-droid. I was even able to get the Shield TV Utility to work via network as another useful tool for remote administration (having had to connect the box via USB for at least one time to get the confirmation dialogue popping up). But I have not been able to find a way to wake up the Shield TV box from sleep mode via network (WoL) yet. Any idea how I could do that? Currently I would have to run around in my home and wake them up manually.