Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Shield TV 4K playback issues
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All,

Been a while since I posted last but that's a good thing, means no issues my end Smile

So I've been running on an Acer Revo R3700 for a few years now and the wife got me a Shield TV for Christmas!
So I have this all singing and dancing android media player but I'm having an issue with 4k playback, mainly it stutters like crazy. Now if I switch on 'libstagefright' HW decoding most of the stuttering goes away which is great, but I now have strange artefacts when skipping or fastforwarding/rewinding. Is there another way of getting 4k playback working without libstagefright?

Also isn't libstagefright being dropped in favour of MediaCodec in Jarivs?
If I use MediaCodec I get no video at all and without HW decoding even 24fps 4k suffers from stuttering.

Any advice is very welcome

Darren
Hello Darren... Darren here, just wondering what you are playing back from?

I got one of these at Xmas, damn awesome from the OH and mine has been fine with 4K content out the box. Running KODI 16 Beta 4... No stutter jutter jitter or flicker.
Hiya,

I'm running from a Sandisk USB3 32GB drive, was running 15.2 but just (10mins ago) put 16.0-Beta5 on, the one for HD Audio testing.

When I enable libstagefright on 15.2 all 4k is smooth, big buck bunny for example at HFR 60fps, but as soon as I disable it it goes back to stuttering badly.
I have just tried MediaCodec (surface) on the new Beta but that has stretched all my videos out of proportion and seems very buggy Smile

I will have a look at uninstalling and putting beta 4 on.
Yeah anything I have runs via SMB over lan... So that rules that out.

I haven't looked at Beta 5.... Was on 4 was using the NUC so stuck with it.

I'll go have a look at mine in a sec!

Quick edit.... Media codec set and that's it!