Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Network problems (buffering?) reproducing files from remote PC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello. I'm trying Openelec on my Intel NUC i3. Before I tried Lubuntu + Kodi, but it was very unstable. Now I've another problem, that seems appear after the Openelec installation. I've a gigabit wired LAN in my home. I've video and audio files in one other desktop PC with Linux Mint in the same LAN. When I reproduce that audio or video files on the NUC through the LAN, after some minutes the playing freezes, and the Kodi interface no longer works. I've to restart the NUC and/or switch off and on the LAN switch, but, restarting the playing, the problem comes back again. A friend of mine says that it seems a buffering problem. I'm not a network expert at all, so, I don't know what to do to solve the problem. Only know that using a gigabit wired LAN, the problem should not happen... I've also tryied to substitute the LAN switch with another, also Gigabit, but the problem still happen (both are economic LAN switches, but different brand and model). Any ideas? May thanks to all. P.S this evening I will try to do a debug log.
a Debug Log would be nice, yes...

What you could do, too....

you could ping your OE machine from the Mint PC and see if you got packet losts.

Code:
ping ip.to.openelec.here

let that run for several minutes.

Next thing to check....

There is an addon in openELECs unofficial repo, which is called iperf. You have to install iperf on Mint as well

Code:
sudo apt-get install iperf

Then you have open a command line on the Mint machine and start iperv with:

Code:
iperf -s

"iperf -s" means you start iperf as a server on this machine.

On OE side, you should be able to start iperf as an client with the ip to the iperf server. Then it will check the bandwidth of your LAN. Might be helpfull to be sure, you have a gigabit network.