Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Choppy HD vid. Please check my pastebin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm very frustrated. Angry - but still positive.

I have very choppy video on 1080 or 720, but only in live TV, not movie playback.

System:
TVHeadend
HDHR tuner. (just using one for OTA)
Dell GX620
Wired Network
SSD
no CPU issues.
TVheadend is on another GX620.

PastBin: http://paste.ubuntu.com/14728555/

What appears relevant to my untrained eye are these:

21:35:36 T:139663922677504 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F060A7FC700]: [mpeg2video] Invalid frame dimensions 0x0.
21:35:36 T:139663922677504 ERROR: Decode - avcodec_decode_video returned failure
21:35:36 T:139663922677504 DEBUG: CDVDPlayerVideo - video decoder returned error
21:35:36 T:139663922677504 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F060A7FC700]: [mpeg2video] Invalid frame dimensions 0x0.
21:35:36 T:139663922677504 ERROR: Decode - avcodec_decode_video returned failure
21:35:36 T:139663922677504 DEBUG: CDVDPlayerVideo - video decoder returned error

I would appreciate a look by a trained eye to point me in the right direction.

Thanks!
That's strange, this bugs keeps popping up despite all attempts to fix it. You should open a ticket on tvheadend.org.
I'm not so sure it's a tvheadend issue. when on the tvheadend interface, I can watch a channel (web-vlc) without any playback issues.
That's not the same thing. Kodi uses a different method of streaming than any other client, which is why it can have its own set of bugs.
I was asked to disable the hardware decoder in a bug report at TVheadend. When I disable DXVA2 hardware acceleration in Kodi the symptom goes away. Hardware acceleration is preferable of course, but the CPU can handle decoding just fine. So while the problem is not fixed, the symptom is!

For anyone with choppy, stuttering, or pausing video in live TV with TVheadend, try disabling hardware acceleration in Kodi. Nod
In that case you should file a ticket on trac.kodi.tv and CC afedchin.
@4q12 can you add a link to the bug report?
I discussed this with some other developers. Could you describe what exactly you mean by "choppy"? In your log you press Stop immediately when playback has started so it's hard to tell what the actual issue is.
Yes, here is the TVheadend bug report: https://tvheadend.org/issues/3320
The last post there claims it's a Kodi issue. I don't think it's as simple as pointing fingers, but again I don't know these systems.

By choppy I mean I get a clear video for about a second, then the picture freezes. two or three seconds later I get another frame (correct in time, not an adjacent frame) then 2-3 second pause. It's like a slideshow rather than a TV show. rather than 30 frames per seconds there are two or three seconds per frame. The audio is unaffected.

In generating the log I think I selected three channels. I watched each for about 10 seconds or so I remember. I did not press stop immediately. - FYI
Can you retry with the latest tvheadend master?
that's what I am using already.
Yes but you if you haven't updated it since your original post you should do it now and retry, perexg fixed something that should affect this behavior.