Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Help with .NFO files for .DFF
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Let me say right off that Kodi is very new to me as is the use of a music player in general, so please try to simplify any responses you may have to offer and assume you are talking with a total newbie. I recently purchased a QNAP TS-451+ NAS/server. I am running Kodi on it and am building my music library. The version of Kodi available to me for the QNAP is Jarvis 16.0.0. The server OS is Linux.

I have several dozen SACD ISO files which I have converted to .DFF files. I would have preferred to convert to .DSF files in order to take advantage of the tagging ability, but for some unknown reason, .DSF files produce a loud thump of sound when changing tracks on my system. This is more than a nuisance as it is loud enough to damage speaker systems at high volume. I think this may be due to the way my Pre/Pro (Emotiva UMC-200) handles the music stream for DSF files. DFF files do not cause this issue. If you think the .DFS thumping problem might be an issue with the way I have Kodi set up, please tell me your thoughts.

At any rate what I am trying to do is get these .DFF files to show up in the Kodi library. Since they cant be tagged I was hoping to create .NFO files to provide the information as described here.

Thus far I have been unsuccessful. I'm probably misinterpreting something in the text file or could there be something else is at work here. Perhaps I just cant use this method for .DFF files? Can someone who is knowledgeable about this provide some guidance? Perhaps post an example of an actual .NFO file for a music album I can use as a template?
The easiest way is probably to look up the required albums on Musicbrainz and copy the URL for the album. Then paste that into the nfo file and scan the directory with the file and associated album.nfo into the music library.