Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Picture Slideshow crashes.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
When I click Pictures>Recursive Slideshow in Kodi v16 Jarvis the whole Kodi app crashes. This happens on both Amazon Fire TV and a Shield TV. On Windows 10 I get "Error: Exception caught on main loop". I updated my Nvidia driver, and that didn't help. The option for 'recursive slideshow' on a folder works just not on the root of the folders.
Anyone know what I can do?

Let me know how and I can post logs.
Known issue, patience at this point. I've found if the folder is too large it's fatal 100% but sub folders are not a problem.
Thread moved to Android
PatK, THANKS!
Hi team,

Hey guys, I am a newbie here. I want to say that I really like KODI (a lot) and am aiming to be helpful to assist with fixing the few issues that come up from time to time.

I too am having the issue "Exception caught in main loop" when existing a slideshow. I understand that it is being looked at and I thank you for that!

In case additional information helps, I can confirm that reducing the number of files in the folder can workaround the problem. I did turn on debug logging, but don't see anyway of attaching the log to this post. I have embedded the salient log lines. Note that both the crashlog and stacktrace files were empty, so only the kodi.log file contains relevent information.

Startup stuff
@karellen- Logs removed

I am running Windows 7 with latest updates. Most of my media folders (including the pictures folder) are symlinks (actually Windows 'Junction's) that point to the actual folder. All folders are on local disks. I originally had around 2000 photos in the folder. If I took approx 2/3rds of the photos out then the problem would not occur.

I hope that this helps.

I am happy to assist in testing this.

thanks guys,
Ron