Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Video button directly to video library
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi

I'm new to Kodi, using MediaPortal for many years.
I have 2 issues I hope you can help with.

1. To my Video-library I have added a "Movie-folder", a "TV-Series-folder" and a "Video-folder". The last Video-folder is my home videoes, DVDrip with kids cartoons and so on.
In Kodi main menu, I want to be able to press "Video", and go directly to the "Video-folder". I dont want to first click "Video"-button, and then have to choose between Movies-folder, TVseries-folder or Video folder.
Also I think I need to press an extra couple of clicks to get there. I just want the Video button in main menu to take me directly to the Video-folder.

2. I have a library with many DVD rips og cartoons. I have ONE big folder, and for each video-file I have a silimar names dvd cover file, like:
Aladdin.mkv
Aladdin.jpg

So in MediaPortal it showed this local DVD cover as an icon. I cannot get Kodi to do the same.
I see that one solution is to create a subfolder for each video, and rename the DVD cover to "folder.jpg". BUT I would like if Kodi could use the "Aladdin.jpg"-cover as icon instead.
Any setting in Kodi to do that?

Thank you in advanca
1. Search and install the skin Confluence++, that you can set up any addon/folder as shortcut.
Hi
Thanks. I installed Confluence++ (Helix), and now see that by "folder as shortcut" you mean it as a submenu.

Isn't it possible to program the "Video"-button or "Picture"-button to take be directly to the folder I what?

When I press "Pictures" I dont what to get a menu with only 3 options "Picture add-ons", "Pictures" and "Add pictures...", I just want it to take me directly to the Picture folder directly.
The Wife factor is not high with these additional and unnecessary extra clicks in my opinion Smile