Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Recommended Episodes/Movies
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all

Ok, first off, I've scoured the Forums for a solution to my issue. Everywhere I see the Mimic skin showcased, I see these Recent Movies or Recommended / Trending Episodes menus in the middle of the home screen with the fanart. For the worth of me, I can't seem to figure out how to get those style menus on my home screen. I'd love to be able to access my favorite shows on my homescreen without having to go through all the steps to get to it through the main menu. I have it set up where the TV Shows menu takes me to Most Popular but I want the actual shows I watch to be right there on the home screen (see pic).

Also, I'm a total noob and don't know a thing about coding so forgive me for asking ow to get the background fanart on the home screen too. I've looked this up everywhere and still vcan't figure it out. All I get is a grey carbon fiber type background.

http://i.imgur.com/f0aFELp.jpg
Got to Skin Settings > Home window > Setup menus and widgets

From here you can set the widget and background for each menu item. The skin.helper.service script provides a large list of available widgets under the Default Widgets item. This addon should have automatically been installed if you installed Mimic from the Kodi addon browser.

On this same window you can customize the backgrounds if you want a different one for each menu item. If you want to use a single or multiimage, you'll need to add your folder of images using the filebrowser first.

If you want to set a global slideshow that cycles fanart for the entire menu, go to Skin Settings > Backgrounds > Overrride home backgrounds with slideshow. Again, you'll need to add your images using the filebrowser first.

Don't know what else to tell ya except to spend some time trying out the various skin settings.