Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
@fritsch @Milhouse
Do you want the same info from the NUC6i7KYK Skull Canyon?
Finally working NUC6CAYH;

Ubuntu 16.04 minimal install
Kernel 20-sept intel nightly (4.14.0-rc1)
Patched with HBR patch (https://bugs.freedesktop.org/attachment.cgi?id=134342)

(UBUNTU) Kernel 4.14.0-rc1 #2 SMP Thu Sep 21 14:44:09 CEST 2017 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

With updated firmware (https://01.org/linuxgraphics/downloads/firmware)
Latest MESA (Padoka unstable)

HDR 10Bit HEVC video working with all audio formats working at every framerate (23.97-60)

Setup:
- NUC6CAYH (With builtin converter DP1.2 --> HDMI 2.0) Latest Bios, lspcon firmware 1.66
- Hdmi splitter, hdmi2.0 strips dhcp2.2
- Harman Kardon AVR151S (hdmi 2.0, not hdcp2.2 compatible) connected to splitter
- Philips PUS6521 (connected to splitter)
(2017-09-22, 09:39)Ach!lles Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-22, 09:20)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-22, 09:18)Ach!lles Wrote: [ -> ]I use a Denon AVR-4311ci. When I press O on the keyboard for Kodi it shows unknown. On the Denon it shows Analog/0 Channelsin the Web UI for Audio Information.

Normal denon remote that brings up the Overlay. Here press "Info".

Edit: And as you are at it: cat /proc/asound/*/eld#0.* | pastebinit
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/*/eld#0.* | pastebinit
cat: can't open '/proc/asound/*/eld#0.*': No such file or directory
http://sprunge.us/KJXZ
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/PCH/eld\#2.0 | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/ZZQi

Code:
speakers        [0xffff] FL/FR LFE FC RL/RR RC FLC/FRC RLC/RRC FLW/FRW FLH/FRH TC FCH
sad_count        1
sad0_coding_type    [0x1] LPCM
sad0_channels        2
sad0_rates        [0xe0] 32000 44100 48000
sad0_bits        [0x20000] 16

That's your problem! It's plain wrong what the AVR tells us. I think in your configuration even multi channel won't work. The only option I see for testing is. Overwrite the EDID information with e.g. my Denon edid and see if it properly handshakes then. Perhaps disabling ARC helps, too.
So in summary: It looks pretty good, right? Nice job by the intel guys. There are other things upcoming soon: lspcon [email protected] yuv420 output and many things more.

For the specific issues like Achille's issue and so on - we need to check further - perhaps in separate threads.
(2017-09-22, 13:27)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-22, 09:39)Ach!lles Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-22, 09:20)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Normal denon remote that brings up the Overlay. Here press "Info".

Edit: And as you are at it: cat /proc/asound/*/eld#0.* | pastebinit
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/*/eld#0.* | pastebinit
cat: can't open '/proc/asound/*/eld#0.*': No such file or directory
http://sprunge.us/KJXZ
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/PCH/eld\#2.0 | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/ZZQi

Code:
speakers        [0xffff] FL/FR LFE FC RL/RR RC FLC/FRC RLC/RRC FLW/FRW FLH/FRH TC FCH
sad_count        1
sad0_coding_type    [0x1] LPCM
sad0_channels        2
sad0_rates        [0xe0] 32000 44100 48000
sad0_bits        [0x20000] 16

That's your problem! It's plain wrong what the AVR tells us. I think in your configuration even multi channel won't work. The only option I see for testing is. Overwrite the EDID information with e.g. my Denon edid and see if it properly handshakes then. Perhaps disabling ARC helps, too.

@fritsch Multichannel LPCM works. I tested that earlier.

EDIT: I ran that command at the Menu. I can run it while playing content if you want.
@fritsch
At Menu
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/PCH/eld\#2.0 | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/eLSB
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/card0/eld\#2.0 | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/CRUA
Playing Content
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/PCH/eld\#2.0 | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/QYPc
LibreELEC:~ # cat /proc/asound/card0/eld\#2.0 | pastebinit
http://sprunge.us/WCSA
This looks okay:

Quote:sad3_coding_type [0xb] DTS-HD
sad3_channels 8
sad3_rates [0x1ec0] 44100 48000 88200 96000 176400 192000

Okay - then we are back at step 1 for you. Do you have another Output, e.g. HDMI 1.4 or DVI->HDMI - does the AVR work with that?
(2017-09-22, 14:04)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]This looks okay:

Quote:sad3_coding_type [0xb] DTS-HD
sad3_channels 8
sad3_rates [0x1ec0] 44100 48000 88200 96000 176400 192000

Okay - then we are back at step 1 for you. Do you have another Output, e.g. HDMI 1.4 or DVI->HDMI - does the AVR work with that?
No because Intel only includes HDMI 2.0 through the LSPCon on the NUCs starting with the Skull Canyon.
(2017-09-22, 11:44)_Alkaline Wrote: [ -> ]Finally working NUC6CAYH;

Ubuntu 16.04 minimal install
Kernel 20-sept intel nightly (4.14.0-rc1)
Patched with HBR patch (https://bugs.freedesktop.org/attachment.cgi?id=134342)

(UBUNTU) Kernel 4.14.0-rc1 #2 SMP Thu Sep 21 14:44:09 CEST 2017 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

With updated firmware (https://01.org/linuxgraphics/downloads/firmware)
Latest MESA (Padoka unstable)

HDR 10Bit HEVC video working with all audio formats working at every framerate (23.97-60)

Setup:
- NUC6CAYH (With builtin converter DP1.2 --> HDMI 2.0) Latest Bios, lspcon firmware 1.66
- Hdmi splitter, hdmi2.0 strips dhcp2.2
- Harman Kardon AVR151S (hdmi 2.0, not hdcp2.2 compatible) connected to splitter
- Philips PUS6521 (connected to splitter)

I am about to install Ubuntu like @_Alkaline did and see if the issue persist.
The lspcon is not your problem. Did you ever have DTS-HD / TrueHD on that AVR? Does it work with Windows?
@fritsch Yes I have been using HD Audio bitstreaming on this AVR since 2011. I have used it daily since then with Dolby Digital Plus/Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD HR/MA.

I have 6 NUCs which work with my Denon AVR-4311:
NUC D54250WYK - Works under LE and Windows
NUC5PPYH - Works under LE and Windows
NUC5i7RYH - Works under LE and Windows
NUC6i7KYK - Works under Windows but not LE
NUC7i3BNK - Works under Windows but not LE
NUC7i7BNH - Works under Windows but not LE

The Denon also works with PS3/PS4/XB1 for HD Audio Bitstreaming. I can boot to Windows on these new NUCS with LSPCon and it works just fine. Same Panasonic Plasma and Denon AVR since 2011. Only variable has been acquiring the newer NUCs.
(2017-09-22, 14:37)Ach!lles Wrote: [ -> ]@fritsch Yes I have been using HD Audio bitstreaming on this AVR since 2011. I have used it daily since then with Dolby Digital Plus/Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD HR/MA.

I have 6 NUCs which work with my Denon AVR-4311:
NUC D54250WYK - Works under LE and Windows
NUC5PPYH - Works under LE and Windows
NUC6i7KYK - Works under Windows but not LE
NUC7i3BNK - Works under Windows but not LE
NUC7i7BNH - Works under Windows but not LE

The Denon also works with PS3/PS4/XB1 for HD Audio Bitstreaming. I can boot to Windows on these new NUCS with LSPCon work just fine. Same Panasonic Plasma and Denon AVR since 2011. Only variable has been acquiring the newer NUCs.

Okay. Never the less we need to find out, why it does not work for you - but most of the others for now. Curious on your Ubuntu results.
I have a Denon X2300w and a J4205 motherboard and everything is working ok except Atmos is showing up as TrueHD on my avr.
(2017-09-22, 16:45)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]I have a Denon X2300w and a J4205 motherboard and everything is working ok except Atmos is showing up as TrueHD on my avr.

I am waiting for some NON-denon users on that matter. Some denons silently disable Atmos when there are only 6 speakers connected and things like this. Btw. this kernel patch has nothing to do with what is transmitted, only with which bit is set to indicate HBR / digital output. All the other information is in the IEC frame which is 100% the same, no matter which output device. Denon did a lot of shit in the last months concerning their DTS parsers. I feel the Dolby stuff is also not better :-) just tested vs PowerDVD or something.

Someone with a Marantz around?
(2017-09-22, 16:48)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-09-22, 16:45)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]I have a Denon X2300w and a J4205 motherboard and everything is working ok except Atmos is showing up as TrueHD on my avr.

I am waiting for some NON-denon users on that matter. Some denons silently disable Atmos when there are only 6 speakers connected and things like this. Btw. this kernel patch has nothing to do with what is transmitted, only with which bit is set to indicate HBR / digital output. All the other information is in the IEC frame which is 100% the same, no matter which output device. Denon did a lot of shit in the last months concerning there DTS parsers. I feel the Dolby stuff is also not better :-) just tested vs PowerDVD or something.

Someone with a Marantz around?

I do only have a 5.1 setup with my receiver so that makes sense. For my receiver, Denon just had a firmware update last week that had something to do with Atmos and DTS-X as well.

Prior to this update I had HDMI > TV and DVI >HDMI Conv > AVR which worked fine but I would sometimes get a green screen when switching from the pc to other inputs on the tv and back. That no longer happens which is very nice.