Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Which colorspace does OpenGL use? (This was a rethorical question)
(2018-07-03, 22:55)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Which colorspace does OpenGL use? (This was a rethorical question)
 I know what answer you wanted, but doesn't it also support scRGB now?
Something for tomorrow :-) too late to even understand what is done there. From first look it seems like a copy / paste issue - but might be intention, more tomorrow.
(2018-07-03, 23:08)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Something for tomorrow :-) too late to even understand what is done there. From first look it seems like a copy / paste issue - but might be intention, more tomorrow.
OK  Sleepy
(2018-07-03, 20:09)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]8.2.5 is way too old for that generation. Basically with most new intels - latest and greatest is just good enough. 
Asrock J3455b-ITX was issued in February 2016. And you want to say that released in 2017 and updated to 8.2.5 in 2018 the LE8 is for this board old?
(2018-07-03, 23:13)wesk05 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-07-03, 23:08)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Something for tomorrow :-) too late to even understand what is done there. From first look it seems like a copy / paste issue - but might be intention, more tomorrow.
OK  Sleepy 
https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/14142 :-)
(2018-07-04, 04:33)blackride Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-07-03, 20:09)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]8.2.5 is way too old for that generation. Basically with most new intels - latest and greatest is just good enough. 
Asrock J3455b-ITX was issued in February 2016. And you want to say that released in 2017 and updated to 8.2.5 in 2018 the LE8 is for this board old? 
I don't "want to say" it I say it. Kodi v18 has received so many changes under the hood, one is "drop of the fix opengl pipeline" and hq scalers with 4 times the throughput by using opengl4 features as well as a lot of work to move away render thread blocking threads away of thread 1.
(2018-07-04, 08:18)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-07-03, 23:13)wesk05 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-07-03, 23:08)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Something for tomorrow :-) too late to even understand what is done there. From first look it seems like a copy / paste issue - but might be intention, more tomorrow.
OK  Sleepy  
https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/14142 :-) 
 Smile
(2018-07-04, 08:18)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/14142 :-) 
Cool Cool that was super fast!
Hi guys.

I have an Asrock J4205 running Ubuntu 18 on a sony 4k hdr tv.

I’m trying to run some 4k iso on kodi but it doesn’t enable hdr. Kodi has support for hdr, right?

Do I need to enable something on Kodi?

Thanks!
(2018-08-12, 01:09)wpansani Wrote: [ -> ]Hi guys.

I have an Asrock J4205 running Ubuntu 18 on a sony 4k hdr tv.

I’m trying to run some 4k iso on kodi but it doesn’t enable hdr. Kodi has support for hdr, right?

Do I need to enable something on Kodi?

Thanks!
 neither the Apollolake GPU nor Kodi's built in player support HDR, there's plenty of posts on this
(2018-08-12, 01:52)Matt Devo Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-08-12, 01:09)wpansani Wrote: [ -> ]Hi guys.

I have an Asrock J4205 running Ubuntu 18 on a sony 4k hdr tv.

I’m trying to run some 4k iso on kodi but it doesn’t enable hdr. Kodi has support for hdr, right?

Do I need to enable something on Kodi?

Thanks!
 neither the Apollolake GPU nor Kodi's built in player support HDR, there's plenty of posts on this

I was afraid on that.

I asked because I found some topics about using HDR on kodi and some users affirming that they got Kodi with HDR and I was wondering how they test it.

Other question, do Kodi sends the signal using 10 bits? How can I test it?

And finally, is there a way to auto switch the resolution between 1080p and 2160p? I’ve enabled Adjust refresh rate with no success.

Thanks for all!
(2018-08-12, 04:12)wpansani Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-08-12, 01:52)Matt Devo Wrote: [ -> ]
(2018-08-12, 01:09)wpansani Wrote: [ -> ]Hi guys.

I have an Asrock J4205 running Ubuntu 18 on a sony 4k hdr tv.

I’m trying to run some 4k iso on kodi but it doesn’t enable hdr. Kodi has support for hdr, right?

Do I need to enable something on Kodi?

Thanks!
 neither the Apollolake GPU nor Kodi's built in player support HDR, there's plenty of posts on this   

I was afraid on that.

I asked because I found some topics about using HDR on kodi and some users affirming that they got Kodi with HDR and I was wondering how they test it.

Other question, do Kodi sends the signal using 10 bits? How can I test it?

And finally, is there a way to auto switch the resolution between 1080p and 2160p? I’ve enabled Adjust refresh rate with no success.

Thanks for all!   
  
Kodi supports HDR on non-Intel platforms - such as the nVidia Shield running Android TV, and AMLogic S905X and S912 running LibreElec (and possibly also CoreElec) which are cut-down Linux builds optimised for Linux Kodi. These will output 10 or 12-bit video and properly flag Rec 2020 colour gamut and an HDR10 EOTF and metadata. The Apple TV 4K running MrMC (a fork of Kodi Krypton) also handles HDR I think.

There are some test images (Quants2D?) that @wesk05  talks about in some of his posts that will show an 8-bit or lower path vs a 10-bit or 12-bit path.

AIUI the only route to HDR on Intel platforms is using Windows with external players and Windows Kodi rather than the internal player, and using either higher-end Intel GPUs or separate GPU cards? It's still pretty involved on the x86 platform - and AIUI current Linux GPU drivers on the Intel platform aren't HDR-friendly (and some are limited to 8-bit at 2160p)
(2018-08-12, 04:12)wpansani Wrote: [ -> ]And finally, is there a way to auto switch the resolution between 1080p and 2160p? I’ve enabled Adjust refresh rate with no success.

You need to whitelist all video modes you want to use from video settings.

(Kodi 18 converts HDR videos to 8 bit so you can watch also 4k HDR movies without washed up colors.)
(2018-08-14, 13:16)P.Kosunen Wrote: [ -> ](Kodi 18 converts HDR videos to 8 bit so you can watch also 4k HDR movies without washed up colors.) 

It's not the conversion to 8 bit per se that stops them looking washed out (after all quite a few HDR players will output HDR 8 bit if you don't configure them correctly) - it's the proper conversion of 10-bit Rec 2020 with HDR10 EOTF, to 8-bit Rec 709 with an SDR EOTF.

It's the colour gamut (space) and EOTF (some would call it gamma) conversion that makes the difference - the bit depth (10-bit vs 8-bit) is actually largely irrelevant (you could keep the video 10-bit in the Rec 709 SDR domain and it would still look great and not washed out)

Please don't let us get into the habit of thinking 8-bit = SDR, 10-bit=HDR