Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,
i just ordered the Asrock J4205 board and will do some testing next week.
Is it so that the pass-through is not working with ALC892 optical output? Is it possible to use the HDMI for all 4K video formats and in parallel the optical for all audio formats?
Thinking about upgraded my kabini htpc with the ASROCK J4205-ITX next year, when the hdmi and decoding problems are resolved in linux.
Just got a new tv and would like to update my system to support 4K/HDR for the future.

Any idea how the cpu performance of a Athlon 5350 and the new J4205 would compare? Never had problems with video playback but im running retroarch on this as well and especially playstation and some arcade games were running quite slow.
i will made today build with debug-drm
@fritsch there is maybe option to use modprobe.d/xxxx.conf to load drm with debug ?

im tried make drm.conf adding line inside
options drm.debug=14 - but dont work, only when i add to kernel parametr "drm.debug=14" is fine
(2016-12-07, 01:04)piotrasd Wrote: [ -> ]here my latest build LE8 (kodi17) on intel-drm-nighlty (kernel 4.9-rc8)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/p5du3h/1e...af92a26779

Code:
[drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20161205

there is also added to image ffmpegx (from Emby) which support HW encoding by intel (H.264, H.265)

I try the build, dts and dolby sound fine but DTS Master audio and Dolby HD no work, on play my avr change to "multi in" but only make noise.
h.265 decode (SW) no (HW)
well elrik, then we have the same result, so I tested the correct Version of LE :-)
(2016-12-07, 13:30)flyingernst Wrote: [ -> ]well elrik, then we have the same result, so I tested the correct Version of LE :-)

yep, I hope we are good beta testers Wink

By default in Libreelec can't select 50hz in 4k, but i read in this thread http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2469788 how to add new modeline.

I add this lines to autostart.sh

Code:
xrandr --newmode "3840x2160_50.00"  586.61  3840 4136 4560 5280  2160 2161 2164 2222  -HSync +Vsync

xrandr --addmode DP1 3840x2160_50.00

And now we can select 50hz in 4k and works fine.

Only need 50hz for TV sat, and we have 2 options, set Kodi en 1080p and make the tv upscaling to 4k or set Kodi in 4k (better menus definition) but maybe poor upscaling.
Lanzos 3 o spline36 works good in 4k? or not supported? Nearest neighbor works fine but not with Lanzos 3 or spline36
(2016-12-07, 12:04)da.schizzle Wrote: [ -> ]Thinking about upgraded my kabini htpc with the ASROCK J4205-ITX next year, when the hdmi and decoding problems are resolved in linux.
Just got a new tv and would like to update my system to support 4K/HDR for the future.

Any idea how the cpu performance of a Athlon 5350 and the new J4205 would compare? Never had problems with video playback but im running retroarch on this as well and especially playstation and some arcade games were running quite slow.

According to this link J4205 is somewhat faster in all benchmarks so you should hope for better performance.
http://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/compare_cpu...n_5350-381
I have no 4K TV yet but I think it is the best solution to set Kodi to 1080p and let the TV do the scaling for Full-HD sources and Kodi will switch to 4K output automaticly if you start a 4K source/videofile
(2016-12-07, 15:33)Dr.Feelgood Wrote: [ -> ]
(2016-12-07, 12:04)da.schizzle Wrote: [ -> ]Thinking about upgraded my kabini htpc with the ASROCK J4205-ITX next year, when the hdmi and decoding problems are resolved in linux.
Just got a new tv and would like to update my system to support 4K/HDR for the future.

Any idea how the cpu performance of a Athlon 5350 and the new J4205 would compare? Never had problems with video playback but im running retroarch on this as well and especially playstation and some arcade games were running quite slow.

According to this link J4205 is somewhat faster in all benchmarks so you should hope for better performance.
http://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/compare_cpu...n_5350-381

4K GPU Decoding is already working with mpv Player, CPU load is about 30 - 35 % when playing the LG Chess test video, I think that's acceptable ;-)
4k h264 decoding works easily in kodi.

But in mpv via the vaPutSurface method (10 to 8 color degragation) even hevc-10 bit should work.
(2016-12-07, 16:44)waso Wrote: [ -> ]4K GPU Decoding is already working with mpv Player, CPU load is about 30 - 35 % when playing the LG Chess test video, I think that's acceptable ;-)

Never wondered about the decoding capabilities if it has a hardware decoder for hevc Smile but raw single core performance doesnt seem to be a big leap after looking at the benachmark results posted above (thanks for that).

Maybe i wait a bit longer for a mITX mainboard with hdmi 2.0 and kabylake support and then put a bit more powerfull celeron/pentium cpu in it, tho this will probably need a active cooling solution.
Ok here latest build with drm debug (updated also kernel, kodi, some intel stuff)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/58mdwt

please test fritsch audio samples with alsa aplay

Code:
#TrueHD
aplay -D 'hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0,AES0=2' -c8 -fs16_le -r192000 testi.truehd.anssi1.ff.60s.spdif
#DTS-HD
aplay -D 'hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0,AES0=2' -c8 -fs16_le -r192000 testi.dtshd.anssi1.ma-71-24.spdif

here link to samples http://www.avenard.org/files/media/media...ssthrough/

for post log
from ssh
Code:
dmesg | pastebinit

people with DVI adapter which raported working HD audio please post log.

PLEASE DO NOT TEST on other builds, this is special with enabled debug for DRM

@fritsch any other idea how to more debug/test and feed ticket on bugzilla ?
No. Btw. you need to test with drm-intel-next-queued kernel not with mainline 4.9 whatever it is as the patches that might make it work were only pushed to drm-intel-next-queued.
(2016-12-07, 18:00)piotrasd Wrote: [ -> ]Ok here latest build with drm debug (updated also kernel, kodi, some intel stuff)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/58mdwt

please test fritsch audio samples with alsa aplay

Code:
#TrueHD
aplay -D 'hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0,AES0=2' -c8 -fs16_le -r192000 testi.truehd.anssi1.ff.60s.spdif
#DTS-HD
aplay -D 'hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0,AES0=2' -c8 -fs16_le -r192000 testi.dtshd.anssi1.ma-71-24.spdif

here link to samples http://www.avenard.org/files/media/media...ssthrough/

for post log
from ssh
Code:
dmesg | pastebinit

people with DVI adapter which raported working HD audio please post log.

PLEASE DO NOT TEST on other builds, this is special with enabled debug for DRM

@fritsch any other idea how to more debug/test and feed ticket on bugzilla ?

Here the log, same result, avr set multi in but only make noise

http://sprunge.us/QcDj
This is the log with DVI adapter, works correctly both, and dolby atmos

http://sprunge.us/dHSY