Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Full xorg.conf: http://paste.ubuntu.com/23716239/
Code:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "intel"
VendorName "INTEL Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "DP1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "[email protected]" "[email protected]" "[email protected]" "[email protected]" "[email protected]" "[email protected]" "[email protected]"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "DP1"
HorizSync 14.0 - 150.0
VertRefresh 24.0 - 62.0
Option "PreferredMode" "[email protected]"
Modeline "[email protected]" 74.176 1920 2558 2602 2750 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "[email protected]" 74.250 1920 2558 2602 2750 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "[email protected]" 148.500 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1094 1125 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "[email protected]" 148.352 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "[email protected]" 148.500 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "[email protected]" 594.00 3840 4896 4984 5280 2160 2168 2178 2250 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "[email protected]" 594.00 3840 4016 4104 4400 2160 2168 2178 2250 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

If you get issues with the 50p / 60p modes, it helps to change the +hsync to a -hsync (at least in my case I need to do that)
Hi,

also my thanks to @wesk05, the CEA 861-F timings did the trick!

Code:
xrandr -display :0 --newmode  "3840x2160_50.00" 594.00 3840 4896 4984 5280 2160 2168 2178 2250 +hsync +vsync
xrandr -display :0 --addmode DP2 3840x2160_50.00
xrandr -display :0 --output DP2 --mode 3840x2160_50.00

with this timings I finally got 2160p50 with the Asrock J4205-itx and a Panasonic CXW754, it seems the Pana is more strict about the timings and I'm very happy that the Magachips MCDP2800 is not the issue.

btw is there any tool to calculate the CEA 861-F modlines like cvt or umc?

@fritsch your xorg.conf is working also fine here
Code:
xrandr -d :0 -q
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 2160, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 connected primary 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 1280mm x 720mm
   [email protected]  50.00*+
   3840x2160     30.00 +  25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98  
   4096x2160     24.00    23.98  
   [email protected]  60.00  
   2560x1440     59.95  
   [email protected]  50.00  
   [email protected]  60.00  
   1920x1080     60.00    50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98  
   [email protected]  59.94  
   [email protected]  24.00  
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00  
   [email protected]  23.98  
   1366x768      59.79  
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

CU
9000h
Hi,

the next big thing would be the HDMI-CEC via the MCDP2800.

CU
9000h
I skip that one - as I never liked how it worked. Using a harmony remote without any issues, including power off / on and so on.
Is there any update on the hd audio issue. Currently not much going on in the bug report.
There is a bugreport on freedesktop.org - you can subscribe there and add valuable information if you have some.
(2016-12-31, 10:55)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks very much @wesk05! I will update the default config line.

Can you post another one for 59.94?
Sure! That's actually simple just divide the pixel clock for 60Hz by 1.001

Modeline "[email protected]" 593.41 3840 4016 4104 4400 2160 2168 2178 2250 +hsync +vsync

These timings are for 8-bit RGB/YCbCr 4:4:4

If you want to try out YCbCr 4:2:0 for these refresh rates, these are the timings that you have to use:

Modeline "[email protected]" 297.00 3840 4368 4412 5280 2160 2168 2178 2250 +hsync +vsync
Modeline "[email protected]" 297.00 3840 3928 3972 4400 2160 2168 2178 2250 +hsync +vsync
(2016-12-31, 10:52)sunnyfunny Wrote: [ -> ]you made my day wesk05
Glad it worked for you.

(2016-12-31, 13:05)9000h Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,
also my thanks to @wesk05, the CEA 861-F timings did the trick!
btw is there any tool to calculate the CEA 861-F modlines like cvt or umc?
CU
9000h
Not that I am aware of. The timing details are provided for all VICs in CTA(CEA) 861-F Table 2.
Hi,

thanks for the reference to CTA(CEA) 861-F Table 2., but the document seems to be not free.

CU
9000h
here latest build https://www.sendspace.com/file/o6kib1/cc...858da3d765
Code:
based on latest LE 8.0 with Kodi 17 rc2

added:

- Aspect ratio fix and changes for HDMI 2.0 https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/series/14015/ (please raport if that something help)
- Intel HDMI LPE audio driver for BYT/CHT
- Enable Intel FBC default
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Intel-FBC-Default-Patch-SKL

bumped:

drm-intel f45701e
mesa 36c648b
ilbva acbc209
libva-intel-driver fcf3d8c
xserver b5dffbb
xf86-video-intel 169c74f

whole image compiled with optimized flag march=silvermont and gcc 6.3
PS. password: le

please remeber that experimental build, just for test progress of work drm-intel and other intel stuff.
YouTube addon now working (but that was issue of LE ), about sound sound crackles i expirenced only once, when i disabled projector, and on next day switch to cable TV without switching off device, over last days no any issue for me (but that dosent mean you not will have Wink channels switching with tvheadend for me also fine.

This build also fix some problem people which got radom freez KODI on nuc and intel sandy bridge with enabled dithering (confirmed)
what broken i dont know Tongue for me works fine.

Happy New Year Wink guys !!!
(2016-12-31, 22:55)piotrasd Wrote: [ -> ]here latest build https://www.sendspace.com/file/o6kib1/cc...858da3d765
Code:
based on latest LE 8.0 with Kodi 17 rc2

added:

- Aspect ratio fix and changes https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/series/14015/ (please raport if that something help)
- Intel HDMI LPE audio driver for BYT/CHT
- Enable Intel FBC default
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Intel-FBC-Default-Patch-SKL

bumped:

drm-intel f45701e
mesa 36c648b
ilbva acbc209
libva-intel-driver fcf3d8c
xserver b5dffbb
xf86-video-intel 169c74f

whole image compiled with optimized flag march=silvermont and gcc 6.3
PS. password: le

please remeber that experimental build, just for test progress of work drm-intel and other intel stuff.
YouTube addon now working (but that was issue of LE ), about sound sound crackles i expirenced only once, when i disabled projector, and on next day switch to cable TV without switching off device, over last days no any issue for me (but that dosent mean you not will have Wink channels switching with tvheadend for me also fine.

This build also fix some problem people which got radom freez KODI on nuc and intel sandy bridge with enabled dithering (confirmed)
what broken i dont know Tongue for me works fine.

Happy New Year Wink guys !!!


Thanks piostrad!!! Happy New Year to all!


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
Hi @piotrasd, I (and others) am having problems with a black screen on refresh rate change on my NUC, and I was eventually directed to your experimental Intel builds.
See http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2490100

I could not find a LibreELEC-Intel.x86_64 install image, so I had to use .nocompat to overinstall LibreELEC-Generic.x86_64.
Using LibreELEC-Intel.x86_64-8.0-devel-20161231213138-r25071-g99dd0d2, refresh rate switching does not work.
Either the build does not work well with my Gen 4 NUC, or the settings are messed up because I started from generic and went to Intel.

Where can I find LibreELEC-Intel.x86_64 install disk images?
Is there is a better place to find all @piotrasd builds in a e.g. a folder, so I can use the dev updater to pull new builds?
Use generic install USB stick and overwrite kernel and system file of the stick with the files from the release you want to install

Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
@ptr727 it was tested with that NUC - http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/n...10wyb.html
and CherryTrail and Asrock Apollo lake mainboard and was fine ...

btw. @ptr727 in any latest changes of vaapi, kernel linux and rest what i bumped most are for latest intels like apollo/kaby
so i dont see point test on older, that build experimental is most for check progress and raport issue before releasing some
official stable package

here img file
https://www.sendspace.com/file/xpba1r for fresh install
(2017-01-03, 16:06)piotrasd Wrote: [ -> ]@ptr727 it was tested with that NUC - http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/n...10wyb.html
and CherryTrail and Asrock Apollo lake mainboard and was fine ...

btw. @ptr727 in any latest changes of vaapi, kernel linux and rest what i bumped most are for latest intels like apollo/kaby
so i dont see point test on older, that build experimental is most for check progress and raport issue before releasing some
official stable package

here img file
https://www.sendspace.com/file/xpba1r for fresh install

Thank you, I will do a fresh install later today and see if refresh rate switching works, and hopefully also the black screen.

I understand you are testing new hardware, the problem myself and others experience is that OpenELEC 5.0.8 worked flawlessly, but current LibreELEC released, and Alpha, and Milhouse builds, sometimes just get a black screen on play when refresh rate switching is enabled.

So therein lies our problem, in theory supposed to work, in practice no longer works, but this is 2 generations old hardware (almost 3 post CES) so it does not get super focus from devs.

My choices are either chase the code to get the regression fixed, which is proving difficult, or $80 for an Odroid C2 (that has its own set of issues), or $400 (old memory and SSD in my 4th gen does not work in 6th gen) for a 6th gen NUC and hope it does not have the same problems. Oh, and I have 4 x Gen4 NUC's in my house, so multiply that replacement cost by 4.

I will report back after I do a fresh install.