Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2017-01-26, 19:57)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-26, 19:26)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-26, 17:21)MasterYous Wrote: [ -> ]From where? Hard to find it for sale anywhere in US atm.

This model NUC6CAYS come fully packed and its the same thing, it's also available on Amazon and Newegg
Yup.
It's one I got. Only issue with it is it's got weird boot issue where it shows boot screen 3 times before getting to bootloader. Not for this forum so will ask Intel.

Was originally going to get i3 kaby lake nuc but after components it's almost 200 pounds more! Yes gpu more powerful and faster Ram but still can't do madvr 720p to 2160p ngu medium scaling so no point

Ordered from a norwegian retailer, since I'm a norwegian in Norway.
(2017-01-26, 17:27)flyingernst Wrote: [ -> ]Why, wall already too high?! :-p

Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk

I've no clever retort for that one. Nicely played. And very sad indeed.
(2017-01-27, 01:23)Dragen Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-26, 19:57)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-26, 19:26)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]This model NUC6CAYS come fully packed and its the same thing, it's also available on Amazon and Newegg
Yup.
It's one I got. Only issue with it is it's got weird boot issue where it shows boot screen 3 times before getting to bootloader. Not for this forum so will ask Intel.

Was originally going to get i3 kaby lake nuc but after components it's almost 200 pounds more! Yes gpu more powerful and faster Ram but still can't do madvr 720p to 2160p ngu medium scaling so no point

Ordered from a norwegian retailer, since I'm a norwegian in Norway.
Ah I see. Thanks for the reply. I'll wait it out "on this side of the wall" a bit longer for the H model, I've got an SD card and compatible memory available.

Big Grin
Pretty sure it'll be better with an SSD.
So using the latest LiberElec build on NUC6CAYS and was only able to get 30Hz on my Samsung UHD TV. Verified my HDMI cable was 2.0.

It turned out that on the Samsung you have to turn on UHD color on HDMI port in the Settings/Menu to get 60Hz. Set that in the TV and rebooted TV and now Kodi allowed 60Hz.

Question on the Kodi LbreElec build, should I select 2 or 3 in Number Of Buffers Used By Graphics Driver?

Thanks in advance!
2 in default LE installation.
Thanks I should elaborate I'm using the latest 4K hevc build dated 1/19 - still the same?
still the same.
Quick question, seeing as these are Intel builds and only made by you.
Once Kodi 17 is fully released will your patches from these builds make it into the generic builds?
(2017-01-27, 17:16)Dragen Wrote: [ -> ]Pretty sure it'll be better with an SSD.

You're probably right, but the SDHC is pretty zippy (and much cheaper) because I don't need the storage space; everything I do is streamed from the Internet or my NAS. I've currently got such an SD card booting Kodi on a NUC5CPYH driving a 1080p display (on Jarvis) and am quite happy. That whole rig with 4 GB of RAM and the 32GB SD card came in under $160. Later tacked on a Pulse-8 CEC for $35, works just great with my cheap-o Vizio panel.

Looking forward to the NUC6CAYH upgrade to get the HEVC-10 h/w decoding going.
I was thinking of purchasing the Asrock j4205-itx. For those of you that already have it, do you like it so far and do you recommend it?
Absolutely. Works perfect, 4205 and 3455
(2017-01-29, 00:05)flyingernst Wrote: [ -> ]Absolutely. Works perfect, 4205 and 3455


Except for HD Audio on HDMI2 (4K 60p) output, on Linux. Hopefully this won't be a repeat of the Baytrail kernel issue that never got fixed.
(2017-01-27, 23:48)lallhands Wrote: [ -> ]So using the latest LiberElec build on NUC6CAYS and was only able to get 30Hz on my Samsung UHD TV. Verified my HDMI cable was 2.0.

It turned out that on the Samsung you have to turn on UHD color on HDMI port in the Settings/Menu to get 60Hz. Set that in the TV and rebooted TV and now Kodi allowed 60Hz.

Question on the Kodi LbreElec build, should I select 2 or 3 in Number Of Buffers Used By Graphics Driver?

Thanks in advance!
Thx for this, i have the JS7000 and had the same problem. With this fix i can now get 60Hz in 3840x2160.

However in this mode when i play 1080p50 live tv material then i only get [email protected] , i hope that i could get 50p in 3840x2160 also.
edit: Noticed that there is no 50Hz choice in 3840x2160p refresh rate settings. Can this be added somehow?
(2017-01-29, 00:16)htpcero Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-29, 00:05)flyingernst Wrote: [ -> ]Absolutely. Works perfect, 4205 and 3455


Except for HD Audio on HDMI2 (4K 60p) output, on Linux. Hopefully this won't be a repeat of the Baytrail kernel issue that never got fixed.

HDMI2 [email protected] output also works. TV needs to be forced into this mode manually (my Samsung for example, see the backlog of this thread). For other models there exist an xorg.conf files to add the modes manually (also see the backlog of this thread).