Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
@piotrasd: How do install your latest image. I use PXE Boot for LE and usually just copy system and kernel over the old ones. This one here is an img file. Thanks
Jep, that's right. Its EUs were too few ... though - the way lanczos3 is implemented is not the best we can get. We use a float intermediate yes, but we could use the convolution axiome to reduce the quadratic computing power to ~ half ....
(2017-02-04, 23:21)piotrasd Wrote: [ -> ]usb-c to HDMI - no body tried so far ...

I tried usb-c to HDMI on my NUC7i3BNK running LE 7.95.2, no difference from the built-in HDMI on the hd audio front, still doesn't work.
Sorry, what is: "USB-C to HDMI"?
Something similar Image
(2017-02-11, 23:53)doobree Wrote: [ -> ]The barebones unit is available uk now for £151-160

https://skinflint.co.uk/intel-nuc-kit-nu...ml?hloc=uk
Amazon US has these finally.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MSZ...PDKIKX0DER
A little more than the $125 for the NUC5CPYH, but still ok.
(2017-02-12, 21:28)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry, what is: "USB-C to HDMI"?

On the NUC7 line, the USB-C port on the rear is a combo plug that includes DisplayPort/HDMI support. I got an adapter that makes it an HDMI output. Same kind of adapter you'd use on a current-gen Macbook, as an example.

Ref: http://ark.intel.com/products/95069/Inte...-NUC7i3BNK

On the higher end NUC7i5 and 7i7, the USB-C port also provides Thunderbolt in addition to USB and DP.

Ref: http://ark.intel.com/products/95061/Inte...-NUC7i5BNK
(2017-02-12, 19:28)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Jep, that's right. Its EUs were too few ... though - the way lanczos3 is implemented is not the best we can get. We use a float intermediate yes, but we could use the convolution axiome to reduce the quadratic computing power to ~ half ....

would it be possible to use Spline 4 tap upscaling in Kodi?
(2017-02-12, 21:28)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry, what is: "USB-C to HDMI"?

The USB Type-C connector can carry USB data, but can also reconfigure to carry Displayport (and thus HDMI), and in some cases Thunderbolt 3.

My Skylake i7 home built development machine has Thunderbolt 3 on a USB Type-C connector. So far I've only used it for TB devices ( via TB3->2 converter) like a Blackmagic Ultra Studio Express, but keep meaning to try it with a Mac USB-C to HDMI adaptor.
(2017-02-13, 00:11)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-02-12, 19:28)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Jep, that's right. Its EUs were too few ... though - the way lanczos3 is implemented is not the best we can get. We use a float intermediate yes, but we could use the convolution axiome to reduce the quadratic computing power to ~ half ....

would it be possible to use Spline 4 tap upscaling in Kodi?

Everything is possible. It's open source.
(2017-02-13, 07:15)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-02-13, 00:11)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-02-12, 19:28)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Jep, that's right. Its EUs were too few ... though - the way lanczos3 is implemented is not the best we can get. We use a float intermediate yes, but we could use the convolution axiome to reduce the quadratic computing power to ~ half ....

would it be possible to use Spline 4 tap upscaling in Kodi?

Everything is possible. It's open source.

Sucks I aint a developer. Im a network guy haha
Might be a silly question so I apologise .
When I get my NUC6CAYS am I better using windows for Kodi or libreelec ?

I've only ever had openelec anc libreelec so not sure what advantage they have over windows .

The NUC6CAYS when I get one will be to watch my movie content from mainly the internal hard drive
Thanks
(2017-02-13, 12:23)Sniffer77 Wrote: [ -> ]Might be a silly question so I apologise .
When I get my NUC6CAYS am I better using windows for Kodi or libreelec ?

I've only ever had openelec anc libreelec so not sure what advantage they have over windows .

The NUC6CAYS when I get one will be to watch my movie content from mainly the internal hard drive
Thanks

Depends on your use case, if you only want the NUC for Kodi then LibreELEC is way to go. Small size and features codec support for everything (apart from HEVC 10bit but thats in test builds).
Can fit on a 16GB Usb Drive easily and does not require much resources so 2GB built in RAM will be fine. For windows you would need to upgrade to 4GB as it does slow down.
(2017-02-13, 12:48)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-02-13, 12:23)Sniffer77 Wrote: [ -> ]Might be a silly question so I apologise .
When I get my NUC6CAYS am I better using windows for Kodi or libreelec ?

I've only ever had openelec anc libreelec so not sure what advantage they have over windows .

The NUC6CAYS when I get one will be to watch my movie content from mainly the internal hard drive
Thanks

Depends on your use case, if you only want the NUC for Kodi then LibreELEC is way to go. Small size and features codec support for everything (apart from HEVC 10bit but thats in test builds).
Can fit on a 16GB Usb Drive easily and does not require much resources so 2GB built in RAM will be fine. For windows you would need to upgrade to 4GB as it does slow down.

Excellent , thanks for the reply . Yes purely for Kodi . Would there be any advantage to upgrading ram to 8gb ? Or is it not required ?
Also can all the sound sources dd, dts etc be outputted by the optical out? Reason I ask is my receiver is of 4K so when watching 4K files it wouldn't pass through when using hdmi.
Sorry for what are probably basic question but appreciate your help
(2017-02-13, 12:48)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-02-13, 12:23)Sniffer77 Wrote: [ -> ]Might be a silly question so I apologise .
When I get my NUC6CAYS am I better using windows for Kodi or libreelec ?

I've only ever had openelec anc libreelec so not sure what advantage they have over windows .

The NUC6CAYS when I get one will be to watch my movie content from mainly the internal hard drive
Thanks

Depends on your use case, if you only want the NUC for Kodi then LibreELEC is way to go.
If you need 3D - libreELEC is a no go! you have to stay on windows.