Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2017-03-06, 19:20)Dr.Feelgood Wrote: [ -> ]On Samsung JS7000 i also have 4:2:2 on J4205-ITX in Win 10 , latest drivers and clean install
hmm, will test LE later
From the Samsung manual:
Supported Resolutions for UHD Input Signals, If HDMI UHD Color is set to On
8 bit RGB 4:4:4 YCbCr 4:4:4 YCbCr 4:2:2 YCbCr 4:2:0
10 bit YCbCr 4:2:2 YCbCr 4:2:0
12 bit YCbCr 4:2:2 YCbCr 4:2:0

I wonder what the HD graphics driver tries to do if it has multiple options Confused
Hi,

it's probably simple, the limit is

[ 14.059] (--) intel(0): HDMI max TMDS frequency 300000KHz

http://www.cedia.co.uk/cda_/images/Resou...er_ENG.pdf

CU
9000h
(2017-03-07, 00:06)9000h Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,

it's probably simple, the limit is

[ 14.059] (--) intel(0): HDMI max TMDS frequency 300000KHz

http://www.cedia.co.uk/cda_/images/Resou...er_ENG.pdf

CU
9000h
I'm not sure if you know, but there is no Intel CPU/GPU that has native HDMI 2.0.
So what you saw is the data of the HDMI 1.4 output.

Now if you can check the DP 1.2 output, I'm interested Smile

The document you linked is from 2014 and doesn't even talk about UHD 60Hz 4:4:4.
Hi,

no I do have it on HDMI 2.0 on Panasonic TX-65DXW904, and 2160p50 2160p60 is working but the TMDS clock is limited probably by the megachips lspcon.

http://www.megachips.com/products/Produc...ochure.pdf

CU
9000h
(2017-03-06, 18:46)oo.viper.oo Wrote: [ -> ]Just verified that your ChromaRes.png shows 4:4:4 in [email protected] with my ASRock J4205, BIOS 1.20, Win10 Pro, latest Intel Gfx driver 15.45.14.4590 connected to Sony Bravia KD-55XD8005.
Hello, could you please send us your TVs EDID info?
http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm
thanks
@ 9000h,

Please Don't post logs on the forum

Its considered bad manners and users are unlikely to help then.

Edit that wall of text above and paste it into pastebin.com and then post the http:// link.
(2017-03-07, 00:06)9000h Wrote: [ -> ]it's probably simple, the limit is
[ 14.059] (--) intel(0): HDMI max TMDS frequency 300000KHz
9000h

With Ubuntu 16.10 live I got the same result, UHD 60Hz 4:2:2.

Here my X log:
Code:
[    32.138] (II) modeset(0): Manufacturer: PHL  Model: 0  Serial#: 16843009
[    32.138] (II) modeset(0): Supported color encodings: RGB 4:4:4 YCrCb 4:4:4
[    32.138] (II) modeset(0): Ranges: V min: 48 V max: 62 Hz, H min: 15 H max: 70 kHz, PixClock max 605 MHz
[    32.138] (II) modeset(0): Supported detailed timing:
[    32.138] (II) modeset(0): clock: 594.0 MHz   Image Size:  1440 x 810 mm
[    32.138] (II) modeset(0): h_active: 3840  h_sync: 4016  h_sync_end 4104 h_blank_end 4400 h_border: 0
[    32.138] (II) modeset(0): v_active: 2160  v_sync: 2168  v_sync_end 2178 v_blanking: 2250 v_border: 0
[    32.139] (--) modeset(0): HDMI max TMDS frequency 300000KHz
[    32.139] (II) modeset(0): Printing probed modes for output DP-1
[    32.139] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "3840x2160"x60.0  594.00  3840 4016 4104 4400  2160 2168 2178 2250 +hsync +vsync (135.0 kHz e)
[    32.300] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-1 connected

I also get the "HDMI max TMDS frequency 300000KHz", but what does it really mean (unused HDMI 1.4 out, or the limited TV input)?
Is there a way to force 4:4:4 on linux?
Hi,

from what I understand

PC --------------------------> lspcon ------------------------>TV
TMDS max 340000Mchar/s ---> lspcon ---> TDMS max 600000Mchar/s

CU
9000h
Hi!

Some of you on this thread also ran into the problem that ASrocks J3455 and J4205 boards do not boot with Crucial Ballistix Sport 4GB 1866mhz CL10 DDR3 modules on 1866mhz in dual channel mode.
I contacted ASrock support regarding this issue and they were very helpful. They sent my modules to Taiwan and it was possible to reproduce and fix the problem.

The problem is fixed with BIOS Version 1.20L for J3455, there should also exist a version for J4205.
The release is not yet available on the website, so please contact ASrock support and ask for it.

I can (and am allowed to) pm a link to the bios for J3455, if you need it pm me or reply to this post. I don't have the bios for J4205, this is available from Asrock support only.

Hope that helps...

Edit: It seems i am not allowed to send PM, if someone needs the release I will post the link here later (@work right now...).
promising Apollo Lake UMPC coming in about 1 month, finally some competition for Ockel Sirius A ;-)
https://www.minipcdb.com/articles/Meet-ECDREAM-EC-V26
Just a stupid question, but why didn't you buy dimm in the recommended list? I have now 2 J3455 boards with 1 Kingston 4gb module kvr16ls-something and these run without issues.

Sorry, but freqs on those busses are ridiculous high and can imagine that memory manuf also not always adhere perfectly to standards to squeeze max perf out of their products. I do know that gpu manuf did all kind of bad tricks to push max perf out of their cards.

Why is it always mobo/chipset/CPU manuf that gets the blame?

Sent from my HTC One_M8
(2017-03-09, 00:33)Stefan75 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-03-06, 18:46)oo.viper.oo Wrote: [ -> ]Just verified that your ChromaRes.png shows 4:4:4 in [email protected] with my ASRock J4205, BIOS 1.20, Win10 Pro, latest Intel Gfx driver 15.45.14.4590 connected to Sony Bravia KD-55XD8005.
Hello, could you please send us your TVs EDID info?
http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm
thanks

This? https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/91620951/sony.txt

It reports 600MHz pixel clock, which seems to be plenty enough for uncompressed 4K, but otherwise I couldn't figure much more out of it...
(2017-03-12, 12:11)dexter98 Wrote: [ -> ]Why is it always mobo/chipset/CPU manuf that gets the blame?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 (typie typie)

Because J4205 has integrated memory controller, which is officially supporting DDR3L @ 1866 @ 2 channels, see Intel specification of the chip: https://ark.intel.com/products/95591/Int...to-2_6-GHz. So it's not some mobo manufacturer's unofficial overclock. 1866 is how it is designed and meant to work. If it's not stable at this frequency, then it's right to blame the "mobo/chipset/CPU" manufacturer.

Edit: to add more meat to this: Crucial has Ballistix certified for this mobo on their web page. This means they have tested it and it was working fine. The fact that some users of this mobo have problem with power up means there's sample variance in mobo manufacturing. This sample variance can probably be compensated for by timing adjustment in new bios, hence the new bios release to fix the issue.

My experience: I got the first revision of this mobo in December, it was rock solid when it eventually powered up and run, but it had difficulty to power up. Power had to be cycled few times for the mobo to power up. After one month it couldn't power up any more. Now I have replacement board and it powers up without any issues on a single press of power button. So there's something fishy with the mobos, not with my Crucial Ballistix memory sticks. Btw it still crashes occasionally, but on the other hand it's rock solid when I torture it with Prime95 or Memtest86. So I attribute these crashes to immature Windows 10 drivers. My guts tell me it's related to bugs in power management, because the more I disable various power saving features, the less crashes I experience. I plan on testing the LibreELEC to see how stable it's on Linux side.
(2017-03-12, 22:27)oo.viper.oo Wrote: [ -> ]This? https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/91620951/sony.txt
It reports 600MHz pixel clock, which seems to be plenty enough for uncompressed 4K, but otherwise I couldn't figure much more out of it...
Interesting, I have almost exactly the same EDID details, even the recommended 1920x1080 resolution.
Thanks for checking..

More and more I'm starting to think that my Philips TV is incapable of displaying UHD 4:4:4.
I used the TVs internal media player to display the three test PNG images, failed (4:2:2).
And I connected a Oppo 203 UHD Bluray player (set to UHD 60Hz RGB/YCrCb4:4:4 8bit), failed (4:2:2).

In a few days I can test it with a nvidia card (DP/HDMI2 out), then I'll know for sure.

Can/will Philips fix this, I doubt it!?
New test, Samsung JS7000 & Asrock J4205-ITX, Win 10
changed HDMI input to 1 (first) and PC as input, reinstalled drivers and now Win10 shows 4:4:4
But when i open the ChromaRes.png in Kodi pictures i get 4:2:2
Why is Kodi now showing 4:2:2 opposite to Win10 4:4:4 Huh