Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I just set up an Apollo Lake Nuc yesterday and notice that the gui is a little sluggish, but videos play fine. I have two 4gb sticks of memory. I installed windows first and updated the bios and firmware and now have the current version of libreelec installed. Has anyone else experienced this problem?
Your force DRI3? If not - worth a try.
(2017-05-13, 16:43)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]Your force DRI3? If not - worth a try.

Will give it a shot when I get home from work. Thanks,
Made the update on 4205 itx. Didn't realize any changes

Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
Besides Bios was reset to defaults and I had to enable the "Ultra fast boot" again. Btw. this mainboard needs 4.5 seconds in UEFI bios mode. While the rest of my boot is due in < 5 seconds.

See:
Code:
Startup finished in 4.534s (firmware) + 699ms (loader) + 2.026s (kernel) + 1.074s (userspace) = 8.335s

@Asrock: Please speed up your "fast" mode - thx.
found my problem, after install resolution was set at 2160p at 24 and when I switched to 1080p at 60 everything was normal. I know my tv will do 2160 at 60 but I did not have the option. Is this due to the problems with the converter chip?
(2017-05-14, 03:13)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]found my problem, after install resolution was set at 2160p at 24 and when I switched to 1080p at 60 everything was normal. I know my tv will do 2160 at 60 but I did not have the option. Is this due to the problems with the converter chip?

Have you done the firmware upgrade for the LSPCon chip? You'll need to do it in Windows unfortunately... There should be no issues with the LSPcon after upgrage to 1.66.
Running kernel 4.11 all the 2160 modes are available for me without any manual xorg.conf changes. I did not run the LSPcon upgrade.
I've done the update from 1.2 to 1.3 BIOS at the J4205 from Asrock. PC is starting without problems. Under Linux 4.11 Intel DRM and KODI sound via HDMI is not Wirkung yet.
All sound in general?

For me it's working just fine.
Sound over HDMI - the known problem with the Apollo Lake processor. Sound via onboard soundcard from Asrock is working.
The known problem is:

DTS-HD, TrueHD passthrough.

Sound in general works perfectly fine.
Thanks for the info - since 2 months I thought this is a general problem. Then I will have a closer look to my configuration.
(2017-05-14, 05:06)trsqr Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-05-14, 03:13)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]found my problem, after install resolution was set at 2160p at 24 and when I switched to 1080p at 60 everything was normal. I know my tv will do 2160 at 60 but I did not have the option. Is this due to the problems with the converter chip?

Have you done the firmware upgrade for the LSPCon chip? You'll need to do it in Windows unfortunately... There should be no issues with the LSPcon after upgrage to 1.66.

Yes I installed windows 1st and updated the bios and the firmware to 1.66

This is a vizio E43u-D2 and according to the specs, it should do 2160 at 60

HDMI 1 Tech Spec600MHz pixel clock rate:
[email protected], 4:4:4, 8-bit
[email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit
[email protected], 4:2:0, 12-bit

but when I use the xrandr command I get this

DP1 connected primary 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 950mm x 540mm
3840x2160 30.00*+ 24.00 29.97 23.98
4096x2160 24.00 23.98
1920x1080 60.00 59.94 30.00 24.00 29.97 23.98
1920x1080i 60.00 59.94
1280x720 60.00 59.94
1024x768 75.03 70.07 60.00
800x600 72.19 75.00 60.32
720x480 60.00 59.94
640x480 75.00 60.00 59.94
720x400 70.08

For an hdmi cable I am uing a new amazon hdmi cable.
(2017-05-14, 18:43)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]HDMI 1 Tech Spec600MHz pixel clock rate:
[email protected], 4:4:4, 8-bit
[email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit
[email protected], 4:2:0, 12-bit

And you are connected to HDMI port #1? The specs show that the TV has only one HDMI 2.0 port (port 1) and the others are HDMI 1.4