Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2017-06-28, 01:27)Korrigan Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-20, 22:23)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]in windows, yes i can with powerdvd 17. But not from a uhd disc.
I have J3455 (in NUC6CAYH) with Windows 10 Build 1703 and Intel Graphics 4678 on LG E6 (directly). Windows does not show the HDR toggle option. It works for you?
So I heard the Windows HDR toggle doesnt exist - it was only in the Preview builds?
Anyway I am using PowerDVD 17 Ultra and it claims to switch into HDR mode but my TV isn't switching into HDR... so it definitly doesnt work for me. Can you give me details on your setup/settings?
(2017-06-28, 10:33)Korrigan Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-28, 01:27)Korrigan Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-20, 22:23)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]in windows, yes i can with powerdvd 17. But not from a uhd disc.
I have J3455 (in NUC6CAYH) with Windows 10 Build 1703 and Intel Graphics 4678 on LG E6 (directly). Windows does not show the HDR toggle option. It works for you?
So I heard the Windows HDR toggle doesnt exist - it was only in the Preview builds?
Anyway I am using PowerDVD 17 Ultra and it claims to switch into HDR mode but my TV isn't switching into HDR... so it definitly doesnt work for me. Can you give me details on your setup/settings?

When powerdvd switches to HDR mode, my tv says it's outputting HDR. That's all i got.


I will say to anyone thinking of buying apollo lake... don't. It's been a buggy piece of junk for me from day 1.
(2017-06-28, 15:39)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]When powerdvd switches to HDR mode, my tv says it's outputting HDR. That's all i got.
That's more than I have Smile
Image
What hardware are you using? Do you have this Windows HDR toggle? What graphics driver? (And what about the LSPCon Firmware version?)
j3455, 1.66 firmware, latest driver, latest bios. I have that setting turned on in windows, but i'm not sure it matters.
My samsung tv fyi can't really display an HDR output, but it can accept it, and it thinks it's getting one.

I do have some choppyness in HDR mode. With it disabled everything is smooth.
(2017-06-28, 17:22)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]j3455, 1.66 firmware, latest driver, latest bios. I have that setting turned on in windows, but i'm not sure it matters.
Did LSPCon 1.66 update, BIOS update. Intel Graphics is v4678. Windows HDR toggle still doesn't show up, PowerDVD 17 claims to swtich to HDR but TV doesnt show HDR.
I really don't know what else to try/do
(2017-06-28, 18:09)Korrigan Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-28, 17:22)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]j3455, 1.66 firmware, latest driver, latest bios. I have that setting turned on in windows, but i'm not sure it matters.
Did LSPCon 1.66 update, BIOS update. Intel Graphics is v4678. Windows HDR toggle still doesn't show up, PowerDVD 17 claims to swtich to HDR but TV doesnt show HDR.
I really don't know what else to try/do

Moved my htpc back into my living room where the 4k tv is. HDR toggle no longer shows up, powerdvd 17 hdr no longer works.

There has to be a bug in either the latest 1.66 firmware, or the latest intel driver. This worked in april when powerdvd 17 first came out.
Intel is claiming that J3455 (any Apollo Lake?) does NOT support HDR. Please give them feedback here: https://communities.intel.com/thread/115741
LOL, well there you have it.


I recall press releases saying these would be 4k+HDR ready when they were released. Good job Intel.
(2017-06-27, 15:15)jezza1222 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi, sorry if this is somewhere in the thread already. My NUC6CAYS is connected via my AVR to my LG TV, however in librelec 8.02, the only audio system settings that work is chosing the display port option that for some reason, knows its connected to a LG TV?? If i chose any on the HDMI options i dont get any sound. In system setting under video, it only gives default or display port, there is no HDMI option? \the display port audio only gives DTS and DD, the high definition audio is not an option, when I check edid via SSH, it states the the DP is connected and the HDMI is not... any solution or fixes..Thanks in advance. I have also tried Fritz build with the same issue and I updated the lpscon firmware thingy to 1.66 in windows before installing librelec.. thanks again guys

I have a question for you, I have the same box and just bought a new Vizio M series TV and do not get the 60hz option when switching resolution. I only get 3840X2160 @ 30hz. Do you get the 60hz option for your tv in resolution setttings.

I also have a pc the kid uses for games that has a gtx960 video card in it. I hooked up to the new tv and was able to get 3840X2160 @ 60hz with no problems. Just not with the nuc.
Hyperthreadig bug, no HDR, no 3D and HD audio passthrough under Linux: Is Intel paying that less for their developers? Apollo Lake seems to be the worst chipset Intel has released in the last decade. Never will be an Intel early adaptor once again!
(2017-07-05, 16:32)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]I recall press releases saying these would be 4k+HDR ready when they were released. Good job Intel.
(2017-07-05, 21:29)mule1 Wrote: [ -> ]Hyperthreadig bug, no HDR, no 3D and HD audio passthrough under Linux. Apollo Lake seems to be the worst chipset Intel has released in the last decade.
Complain. If we are loud enough then they can't ignore us.

(2017-07-05, 21:18)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]I have the same box and just bought a new Vizio M series TV and do not get the 60hz option when switching resolution. I only get 3840X2160 @ 30hz. Do you get the 60hz option for your tv in resolution setttings.
I can confirm NUC6CAYH can do 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz.
[/quote]
I can confirm NUC6CAYH can do 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz.
[/quote]

In Windows or Libreelec or both? I am not having any luck in libreelec so far
(2017-07-06, 05:51)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]In Windows or Libreelec or both? I am not having any luck in libreelec so far

Using an ASRock J4205 I can also set the refresh rate to max 30 Hz on 3840 x 2160 resolution. End of august we can expect LE 8.2 and that will come with newer kernel and drivers. I hope that release fixes this and some other issues.
(2017-07-06, 05:51)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-07-05, 21:49)Korrigan Wrote: [ -> ]I can confirm NUC6CAYH can do 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz.
In Windows or Libreelec or both? I am not having any luck in libreelec so far
Windows only, sorry.