Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Apollo Lake
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2017-07-06, 08:55)b4cksl4sh Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-07-06, 05:51)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]In Windows or Libreelec or both? I am not having any luck in libreelec so far

Using an ASRock J4205 I can also set the refresh rate to max 30 Hz on 3840 x 2160 resolution. End of august we can expect LE 8.2 and that will come with newer kernel and drivers. I hope that release fixes this and some other issues.

Thank you, was starting to think I was crazy.
Erh...... no.

I have 2 asrock J3455 running, one under Linux as nas and one under windows as kodi box. Both run very stable, although I do have a strange USB issue on both (disconnects and reconnects at regular intervals). Doesn't have noticeable impact.

The windows box runs 3d full HD mvc hw decode and all audio pass-through without issues. So doubt whether that is a problem of the proc/chipset.

To be noted that the kodi box is running a J3455b board, so NO Dresden dp->hdmi converter chip (I don't care about 4k nor hdr as my projector only does 1080p).

Lots of problems seem to come from that dreaded (non-Intel) chip.

Also, in the past Linux was always a bit behind in new hw support, so that's also quite normal.

Sent from my HTC One_M8
(2017-07-06, 17:17)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-07-06, 08:55)b4cksl4sh Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-07-06, 05:51)gwilly7 Wrote: [ -> ]In Windows or Libreelec or both? I am not having any luck in libreelec so far

Using an ASRock J4205 I can also set the refresh rate to max 30 Hz on 3840 x 2160 resolution. End of august we can expect LE 8.2 and that will come with newer kernel and drivers. I hope that release fixes this and some other issues.

Thank you, was starting to think I was crazy.


I have Asrock J4205-ITX and it's working fine in both LE and Win10 on [email protected] resolutions. Check your cables or TV input settings, i remember i had to enable UHD color on my Samsung TV.
When people are talking about 3840x2160 at 60Hz refresh it's REALLY important to also confirm your colour subsampling. There's a huge difference, in HDMI terms, between 4:2:0 and 4:2:2 in this regard.

Many early UHD displays only accept 3840x2160/60p at 4:2:0 and can't accept it at 4:2:2 (this is because the HDMI 2.0 support was retrofitted to HDMI 1.4b hardware - and the HDMI 2.0 mode of 2160/60p at 4:2:0 just squeezes into the legacy HDMI 1.4 bandwidth. This is how nVidia were able to support 2160/60p on older GPUs which on paper initially only had HDMI 1.4 outputs)

I have a feeling this may be why some people have no issues, and others do...
(2017-07-07, 10:11)noggin Wrote: [ -> ]When people are talking about 3840x2160 at 60Hz refresh it's REALLY important to also confirm your colour subsampling. There's a huge difference, in HDMI terms, between 4:2:0 and 4:2:2 in this regard.

Many early UHD displays only accept 3840x2160/60p at 4:2:0 and can't accept it at 4:2:2 (this is because the HDMI 2.0 support was retrofitted to HDMI 1.4b hardware - and the HDMI 2.0 mode of 2160/60p at 4:2:0 just squeezes into the legacy HDMI 1.4 bandwidth. This is how nVidia were able to support 2160/60p on older GPUs which on paper initially only had HDMI 1.4 outputs)

I have a feeling this may be why some people have no issues, and others do...

That's why I get no signal when I activate enhanced colors on my LG OLED TV. The PC (Windows) turns automatically to 2160/60 at 4:4:4 or 4:2:2 and the TV can't display it. With the Intel drivers I can't manage the chroma settings.
(2017-07-07, 10:11)noggin Wrote: [ -> ]When people are talking about 3840x2160 at 60Hz refresh it's REALLY important to also confirm your colour subsampling. There's a huge difference, in HDMI terms, between 4:2:0 and 4:2:2 in this regard.

Many early UHD displays only accept 3840x2160/60p at 4:2:0 and can't accept it at 4:2:2 (this is because the HDMI 2.0 support was retrofitted to HDMI 1.4b hardware - and the HDMI 2.0 mode of 2160/60p at 4:2:0 just squeezes into the legacy HDMI 1.4 bandwidth. This is how nVidia were able to support 2160/60p on older GPUs which on paper initially only had HDMI 1.4 outputs)

I have a feeling this may be why some people have no issues, and others do...

I have a new 2017 Vizio M65-E0 and their site shows that it accepts the following

HDMI 1 Tech Spec600MHz pixel clock rate:
[email protected], 4:4:4, 8-bit | [email protected], 4:2:2, 12-bit | [email protected], 4:2:0, 12-bit

I am also using brand new hdmi cables from Sams Club.

I have a denon avr-x2300w as a receiver. I have tried going through the receiver as well as straight to the tv.
So I wonder if using the I5 version of this NUC with the full native USB C/ thunderbolt output and using a USB C --> HDMI adapter would allow bitstreaming to work in LE?

Anyone got any ideas or tried this?
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downloa...dows-15-46-

https://communities.intel.com/thread/116390

Intel 22.20.16.4729 driver for Apollo Lake. This is a new driver branch with WDDM 2.2 support on Creators Update 1703. This should enable HDR support but I don't know if Apollo Lake supports it like Kaby Lake does.
i'll try it tonight, not very optimistic though.
Hello to all, sorry if I am posting a duplicate question. anyone have CPU Celeron J3455,J3355,N3450,N3350 ? i am interest in Intel HD Graphics 500, but i dont know it can use HW Decode for HEVC 10bit 4K / VP9 4K. can someone pls install DXVA-Checker https://www.videohelp.com/software/DXVA-Checker and share result here ? this program can tell, what your currently use GPU can decode like this picture, thanks.
Image
(2017-07-18, 17:02)earth1303001 Wrote: [ -> ]Hello to all, sorry if I am posting a duplicate question.

You did. It's covered extensively in this thread, over and over and over and over and over.
(2017-07-18, 17:54)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-07-18, 17:02)earth1303001 Wrote: [ -> ]Hello to all, sorry if I am posting a duplicate question.

You did. It's covered extensively in this thread, over and over and over and over and over.

yeah i do sorry for that. but my point is i did not using kodi.

i mainly use media player clasic with k-lite codec pack for everything.

i do search all over the internet for this Intel Apollo Lake and Intel HD Graphics 500, but not found other topic as much information as this one.

i just scan through this topic a moment ago but found nothing what i search for.

so here i am, just want to see DXVA Checker for confirmation. what is this Intel HD Graphics 500 can really decode. can it have any use for any other media player than kodi ?
(2017-07-18, 18:56)earth1303001 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-07-18, 17:54)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-07-18, 17:02)earth1303001 Wrote: [ -> ]Hello to all, sorry if I am posting a duplicate question.

You did. It's covered extensively in this thread, over and over and over and over and over.

yeah i do sorry for that. but my point is i did not using kodi.

i mainly use media player clasic with k-lite codec pack for everything.

i do search all over the internet for this Intel Apollo Lake and Intel HD Graphics 500, but not found other topic as much information as this one.

i just scan through this topic a moment ago but found nothing what i search for.

so here i am, just want to see DXVA Checker for confirmation. what is this Intel HD Graphics 500 can really decode. can it have any use for any other media player than kodi ?

I don't believe you searched.

http://bfy.tw/CuB2

Click images tab, there are 20 to choose from.
(2017-07-18, 20:50)honcho Wrote: [ -> ]I don't believe you searched.

http://bfy.tw/CuB2

Click images tab, there are 20 to choose from.



Thank.