Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Recent build - remote keymap wrong
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Since a recent build the keymap has mapped the wrong buttons, any idea what has caused this ?

Logs

http://paste.ubuntu.com/16140812/

As you can see from the logs the buttons are doing odd stuff

Code:
09:10:04 T:140309479131264   DEBUG: LIRC: Update - NEW at 16479:000000037ff07bde 00 KEY_RIGHT mceusb (KEY_RIGHT)
09:10:04 T:140309479131264   DEBUG: OnKey: 168 (0xa8) pressed, action is Up

Code:
09:10:22 T:140309479131264   DEBUG: LIRC: Update - NEW at 34319:000000037ff07be9 00 KEY_PLAY mceusb (KEY_PLAY)
09:10:22 T:140309479131264   DEBUG: OnKey: homepage (0xea) pressed, action is SkipPrevious

Its a standard rc06 with MCE remote has been working fine till a recent compile - I rewound back to when it was working and recompiled but the map is still wrong
Fixed it, it looks like it's something to do with two commits

https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/6b88...1e90d64a0f

and

https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/71aa...8975fa5668

and maybe https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/8154...f9af22582f

Renaming universalremote.Harmony.xml and universalremote.AppleRemote.xml in /usr/share/kodi/system/keymaps fixed it
What should they be renamed to?
I just renamed them to

Code:
sudo mv universalremote.AppleRemote.xml universalremote.AppleRemote.old

and

Code:
sudo mv universalremote.Harmony.xml universalremote.Harmony.old

Worked okay after that, explains why even after rewinding to a previous commit made no difference
noticed this today too, my 25/apr build works ok, but not today's.

but i'm using an mce remote and lirc on linux, not an apple/harmony remote on osx.....?
Thanks @luna_s

I see the same behaviour using CEC remote controller

Renaming the universal remote control files "fixes" it for me too, so they seem to impact far more than universal remotes.
I have a similar issue, i use kodi 16.1-dmo1 on debian, with a flirc and harmony remote.
Everything was working fine but i upgraded, now i lost the ability to use the sms style jump.
My keyboard is french azerty.
I tried renaming the files like suggested, no change.
It appears that kodi now recognize the 0-9 keys as their lowercase (in azerty) counterpart, so à&é"'( etc...
Any idea how i can fix that ?
mea culpa - working on fixing it properly...
Same here..keymap for Zotac remote broken. Right button = UP command
Is there a quick fix for Zotac remotes? Tried stable, unstable and nightly all with the same issue, rendering my Mediacenter kinda useless..frustrating..
Installed the latest nightly but the remote key map issue still persists.
(2016-05-03, 13:39)Endeavour79 Wrote: [ -> ]Installed the latest nightly but the remote key map issue still persists.

well yes, we know its not been fixed, the workaround is above - simply move/delete two files.

whoa don't try a build today, somethings gone mental on the system information screen - one of my cores is pegged at 100% constantly calculating free ram and another core seems to be pegged at about 50% trying to draw the bar graphs lol. 16.9.702~git20160503.91e941e-17a2
@sej7278 : The workaround doesn't always work though :/
I don't even have those files... I have joystick. instead of universalremote. Sad
Same here.. I downgraded from nightly to stable and there are no such files. However the latest stable version (installed it yesterday) works fine for my Zotac remote.
(2016-05-04, 18:58)EnderEOC Wrote: [ -> ]@sej7278 : The workaround doesn't always work though :/
I don't even have those files... I have joystick. instead of universalremote. Sad

Try purge kodi and ppa purge for unstable and nightly ppa and install a clean stable version. You can keep your user settings folder. Worked for me.
Pages: 1 2