Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Material Design reimagining of Estuary
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

I love the functionality of Kodi's new default skin, Estuary, but was curious how it would translate into Google's Material design language, and I think it looks pretty good.

I am primarily a UI Designer by trade, but would love to work with a skilled skinner to bring this to life. Hit me up if you're interested. I would love to see this on my Shield TV.

Here are a few pages I've redesigned with the same buttons and assets, along with their "Before" states. Let me know what you think.

watch gallery
I would love to see this come to fruition!

I quite like the Estuary skin, but the Material redesign would be the cherry on top!
Nice and clean, very minimalist.
Looks good. Hope this becomes a reality.
Wow, i like it!!!

This is how the original should looks like Wink
Would love to see this happen, looks great!
yup, nice one. like it.
That is very nice, but that's not Material Design at all. Transparency, the white accent on the homepage... Material design is supposed to mimic the superposition of different layers of paper.
Still very nice looking though.
(2016-09-04, 16:02)Maxoo Wrote: [ -> ]That is very nice, but that's not Material Design at all. Transparency, the white accent on the homepage... Material design is supposed to mimic the superposition of different layers of paper.
Thanks! I agree and disagree. Yes, the concept of stacked layers is the origin of material design, but Android TV's implementation uses many more transparencies and gradients to liven things up.
watch gallery
I must say - WOW! Big Grin