Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Two Kodi instances not seeing each other
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello guys,
I am new to Kodi - but not to computers and networks - I looked for documentation on the following issues but could not find anything specific; instead I found a whole lot about similar problems. I hope it is the right section of the forum to ask. In case it isn't plese accept my apologies.

So, I have just recently bought my first Smart TV box (TX5 Pro), that comes with Kodi 16.1 preinstalled. I have configured it, connected to the network and video playback works fine.
I also have installed Kodi 16.1 on my pc, and it also streams video correctly. My pc also has Samsunk Link 2.0 installed, which is a DLNA server I use to stream video files to my smart dvd player.

On both of them I have configured System -> Services -> Upnp/DLNA ->
x Share my libraries
x Look for remote Upnp players
x Allow remote control via Upnp

This should allow both instance to act as servers and clients, if I understood it correctly.
My ultimate goal is to be able to stream my pc desktop to the tv box kodi, and I know I will need some more dlna server like Serviio, but for the moment I am focused on network visibility.
With the options above enabled, I thought I should have been able to go to:

Videos -> Files -> Add videos -> Browse -> UPnp devices -> and here add Kodi instance in the other system, right?
For example, on PC I should see ..-> Kodi TX5 Pro

Well, it does not work.
Among sources, I only see:

- PC[Bestia] (which is the name of my Samsung Link server)
- Kodi (localhost)

I know it is not a network issue because in my Smart TV Box Kodi I still can see the PC[Bestia] server. So I know the two boxes can see each other because the S-Link server gets correctly announced and picked up by the TV Box server.
Yet, Kodi on TV can't seem to be able to pick Kodi on PC and viceversa.