Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2017-01-09, 22:43)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]Yes, until Kodi Dev or Intel Dev resolved the HDMI 2.0 issues, the only MINI PC (NUC Like) that has both HDMI 1.4 and 2.0 is the AsRock Beebox.

Asrock has integrated some adapter to convert DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0.

Code:
$ xrandr --display :0
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 2160, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 connected 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 1600mm x 900mm
   3840x2160     60.00 +  30.00    25.00    24.00*   29.97    23.98  
   4096x2160     24.00    23.98  
   1920x1080     60.00    50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98  
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1152x864      59.97  
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x400       70.08  
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
(2017-01-09, 21:43)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-09, 19:51)_Spook_ Wrote: [ -> ]Just ordered one of each of the new NUC7 (i3, i5 and i7). Let's see which one gets here first Smile

One of eachHuh

Why?

Because they are not for me. They are for work. We use the NUCs alot for our business. And I can use these for other testing, like Kodi, since they will not go into production work for atleast three months. If they work OK I will get one for myself later on Smile
(2017-01-10, 16:30)P.Kosunen Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-09, 22:43)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]Yes, until Kodi Dev or Intel Dev resolved the HDMI 2.0 issues, the only MINI PC (NUC Like) that has both HDMI 1.4 and 2.0 is the AsRock Beebox.

Asrock has integrated some adapter to convert DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0.

Code:
$ xrandr --display :0
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 2160, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 connected 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 1600mm x 900mm
   3840x2160     60.00 +  30.00    25.00    24.00*   29.97    23.98  
   4096x2160     24.00    23.98  
   1920x1080     60.00    50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98  
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1152x864      59.97  
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x400       70.08  
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Yes, they use a chip to convert DP to HDMI 2.0x. Intel does the same in the NUC6i7KYK (Skull Canyon) and now with the NUC7.

The intel and kernel devs need to implement the LSPCON patch into the i915 drivers to makes the use of proper HDMI 2.x possible since HDMI 2.0 on Kaby Lake is native. Not sure what the latest status for these patches are. But you can find more about the patches here:
https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/intel-gfx/list/

It's not a Kodi bug/problem.

EDIT: Seems the LSPCON patch work has been implemented into the 4.10 kernel chain. So time will tell Smile https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=94248
(2017-01-10, 19:46)_Spook_ Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-09, 21:43)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-09, 19:51)_Spook_ Wrote: [ -> ]Just ordered one of each of the new NUC7 (i3, i5 and i7). Let's see which one gets here first Smile

One of eachHuh

Why?

Because they are not for me. They are for work. We use the NUCs alot for our business. And I can use these for other testing, like Kodi, since they will not go into production work for atleast three months. If they work OK I will get one for myself later on Smile

Let me know if you see a difference in picture quality between i3/i5/i7 because intel website indicates that the i5/i7 has the IRIS plus GFX
Are there any difference between the Intel NUC kaby lake and gigabyte brix kaby lake? Specs seem same.
(2017-01-11, 16:23)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]Are there any difference between the Intel NUC kaby lake and gigabyte brix kaby lake? Specs seem same.

No difference.
(2017-01-11, 16:54)_Spook_ Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-11, 16:23)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]Are there any difference between the Intel NUC kaby lake and gigabyte brix kaby lake? Specs seem same.

No difference.
Thanks
(2017-01-11, 17:19)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-11, 16:54)_Spook_ Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-11, 16:23)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]Are there any difference between the Intel NUC kaby lake and gigabyte brix kaby lake? Specs seem same.

No difference.
Thanks

Why do you want to buy the Brix over the NUC?
Intel NUC kaby lake I5 and I7 have not the same CPU/GPU . for example 7267U for NUC I5 vs 7200U for Brix.
CPU : 7267U max 3.5 Ghz vs 3.1 Ghz for 7200U
cache : 4MB Vs 3MB
Iris Plus Graphics 650 (NUC ) have 48 EU vs 24 EU for Iris Plus Graphics 620 ( Brix ).

I don't know if in the real world it change something.

I also read that apollo lake NUC will have HDMI-CEC. Will Kaby lake NUC have HDMI-CEC Huh
(2017-01-11, 17:23)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-11, 17:19)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-11, 16:54)_Spook_ Wrote: [ -> ]No difference.
Thanks

Why do you want to buy the Brix over the NUC?
It's out now in UK while NUC is not. Lol
I'm not patient.
I'm only after the i3 version which both nuc and brix have same CPU and gpu.
(2017-01-11, 18:14)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-11, 17:23)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-11, 17:19)Nekromantik Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks

Why do you want to buy the Brix over the NUC?
It's out now in UK while NUC is not. Lol
I'm not patient.
I'm only after the i3 version which both nuc and brix have same CPU and gpu.

Got itSmile
About to pull the trigger on a Cubi 2 i3-7100U/4GB/128GB for just Kodi use, is there a build that works under Linux yet? At the moment (and for at least 6 months) I'm not worried about HEVC, 4K, HD Audio or anything like that but would prefer not to have to put W10 on if I can avoid it?
(2017-01-07, 15:46)movie78 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-07, 11:57)stinuz Wrote: [ -> ]Hello Movie78,

After years of using an old HP desktop computer with kodi, behind a false wall here in my living room, I finally decided to buy the Beebox-S 7200 with the kaby lake processor. I putted in a M.2 SSD and 2 Memory modules DDR4 - 8GB Ram. I know it's overkill but it's an i5 and I thought if I use this box in the future for something else it would be better. Both the SSD and DDR4 are from the same brand, crucial. And I putted in 2 DDR4 modules because I read somewhere on the internet that this is mandatory for 4K...

Excited as I was I booted the appliance, installed ubunte, because I didn't wanted to buy a windows license, installed kodi and played back some movies / tv shows. I noticed directly that it didn't played smooth and I was a bit disappointed. With my old HTPC I just thought it was because of older hardware but with the brand new box I knew this was not possible. Both my old HTPC and the beebox are directly capable of doing hardware decoding and I did not understand why I had stuttering. With the new Beebox I started investigating and I quickly came to the following kodi thread. http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid1943753 (after installing, windows, then again ubuntu and finally I'm back on windows for various other reasons...) Netflix 4K, Logitech Harmony support ....

Long story, short: I needed to enable both settings (refresh rate to tv: to get rid of the stuttering and sync playback to device: to avoid lipsync issues when I enable the first setting).

I need to test some more 4K movies because It's possible that I only face this issue with FullHD content.(720p, 1080p..) I understand that a lot depends on the type of movie and the encoded settings I try to play with kodi. At least I already loaded some 4K samples and with both settings off I don't get stuttering. I think it's due to the fact that the refresh rate from my 4K movies are already @60hz.

What I really want to ask is if you (or somebody else here) knows if there is quality loss when using both kodi settings. It seems like most of my 1080P content plays at 24hz now instead of 60hz and I think I will have a lower quality. But I can't see the difference visually with my eyes so far. I guess the lower the refresh rate the lower the quality for faster movie scenes (images at a fast pace, moving around...) And also I would like to know what your settings are. If you would like to share.

At this moment, I'm happy with both settings turned on. And I guess when I use the correct 4K movies encoded at 60hz I will be good to go.

I'm using
ASRock Beebox-S 7200 kaby lake
Onkyo TX-NR646 receiver
5.1 surround with Klipsch satellite quintet speakers and BK Electronics Gemini 2 subwoofer
Windows 10 Pro
Kodi Krypton

Best regards,
Stijn

Welcome to the awesome journey of Kodi, below are the settings that i am using for Windows.

Image
Image

These settings allow the display to switch to proper resolution and framerate
Image


Do not use Ubuntu with your hardware, try reading the Apollo Lake thread the have more recent release that is fully compactible with Kaby Lake.

Apollo Lake Thread

Why do you use "use fullscreen window"? What is the advantage?
(2017-01-13, 10:25)ShinyAndy Wrote: [ -> ]About to pull the trigger on a Cubi 2 i3-7100U/4GB/128GB for just Kodi use, is there a build that works under Linux yet? At the moment (and for at least 6 months) I'm not worried about HEVC, 4K, HD Audio or anything like that but would prefer not to have to put W10 on if I can avoid it?

Get the Asrock version of Kaby Lake and look here for supported Linux version.
The Beebox-S? Why is that?

The barebones i3 is around 50€ more here than the MSI which includes RAM&SSD