Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Intel Kaby Lake Hardware
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2017-06-04, 19:58)ternerito Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-03, 11:31)HDGMA Wrote: [ -> ]https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downloa...dows-15-45-

https://communities.intel.com/thread/115054

Intel released new 21.20.16.4678 driver for Kaby Lake.

I installed these latest drivers on my kaby lake i3 with windows 10 creator update, still don't see HDR popping up on my tv while playing a file that has HDR info.
Also, I have no HDR "switch" in the OS display settings page.

I'm not sure if this limitation is due to Kodi, intel drivers, or both?
HDR passes through just fine using PowerDVD 17.

Sent from my HTC 10
(2017-06-04, 19:31)3DBuff Wrote: [ -> ]Are you sure you have HDMI 1.4 port? In some cases 2.0 can output this random left right frames but not 3D. Is the TV in 3D mode? Is the 3D logo coming up?

Yes. Yes. Yes. Is anyone working fine with 1.4 and 3D or is that only available in the Beebox Kaby Lake?
(2017-06-04, 20:08)fmedrano1977 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-04, 19:58)ternerito Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-03, 11:31)HDGMA Wrote: [ -> ]https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downloa...dows-15-45-

https://communities.intel.com/thread/115054

Intel released new 21.20.16.4678 driver for Kaby Lake.

I installed these latest drivers on my kaby lake i3 with windows 10 creator update, still don't see HDR popping up on my tv while playing a file that has HDR info.
Also, I have no HDR "switch" in the OS display settings page.

I'm not sure if this limitation is due to Kodi, intel drivers, or both?
HDR passes through just fine using PowerDVD 17.

Sent from my HTC 10 (typie typie)

Thanks. It follows that this is a limitation in Kodi... Also the fact that there is no HDR "switch" in the display settings would just be cosmetic, since HDR does work with at least one app (PowerDVD 17), correct?
(2017-06-04, 19:31)3DBuff Wrote: [ -> ]Are you sure you have HDMI 1.4 port? In some cases 2.0 can output this random left right frames but not 3D. Is the TV in 3D mode? Is the 3D logo coming up?

Yes, the Beebox-S Kaby Lake has one to the right (from the back) and the 2.0 is to the left. Yes it's in 3D mode because slower scenes like talking and such are 3D just fine. But as soon as there's medium-fast movement, or the camera pans, the moving object(s) break into geometric like colors and are undiscernible. It may be that the various layers are displayed all out of layer. It's really hard to describe and impossible to film.
afedchin is working on HDR metadata support on windows, you can follow his work on github.
(2017-06-04, 22:17)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]afedchin is working on HDR metadata support on windows, you can follow his work on github.
That's great news.

Sent from my HTC 10
(2017-06-04, 21:22)twinpeaks Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-04, 19:31)3DBuff Wrote: [ -> ]Are you sure you have HDMI 1.4 port? In some cases 2.0 can output this random left right frames but not 3D. Is the TV in 3D mode? Is the 3D logo coming up?

Yes, the Beebox-S Kaby Lake has one to the right (from the back) and the 2.0 is to the left. Yes it's in 3D mode because slower scenes like talking and such are 3D just fine. But as soon as there's medium-fast movement, or the camera pans, the moving object(s) break into geometric like colors and are undiscernible. It may be that the various layers are displayed all out of layer. It's really hard to describe and impossible to film.


If 2 TV's are showing the same thing but it works OK with other players than maybe you have defective Beebox.
(2017-06-05, 03:08)3DBuff Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-04, 21:22)twinpeaks Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-04, 19:31)3DBuff Wrote: [ -> ]Are you sure you have HDMI 1.4 port? In some cases 2.0 can output this random left right frames but not 3D. Is the TV in 3D mode? Is the 3D logo coming up?

Yes, the Beebox-S Kaby Lake has one to the right (from the back) and the 2.0 is to the left. Yes it's in 3D mode because slower scenes like talking and such are 3D just fine. But as soon as there's medium-fast movement, or the camera pans, the moving object(s) break into geometric like colors and are undiscernible. It may be that the various layers are displayed all out of layer. It's really hard to describe and impossible to film.


If 2 TV's are showing the same thing but it works OK with other players than maybe you have defective Beebox.

I gave up after some feeble support from ASRock and molasses development from slow and lazy Intel. It's all going back. Maybe when the 3D / HDMI / 60hz issues are all cleaned up, I'll get someone to validate here how the Beebox performs. I'd love to have a working, reliable device, but I'm not going to sit on a $700 device awaiting fixes and not sure if all my problems will be resolved.
Hi. Trying to buy an intel nuc (kaby lake) for 4k hdr playback. Is this https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01N6SG...B01N6SG8DP
model powerful enough or should i get the i5 version? Thanks
(2017-06-13, 16:28)ggp759 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi. Trying to buy an intel nuc (kaby lake) for 4k hdr playback. Is this https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01N6SG...B01N6SG8DP
model powerful enough or should i get the i5 version? Thanks
I use the i3 version and have played a 1:1 UHD rip using PowerDVD 17 without issue.

Sent from my HTC 10
(2017-06-13, 16:28)ggp759 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi. Trying to buy an intel nuc (kaby lake) for 4k hdr playback. Is this https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01N6SG...B01N6SG8DP
model powerful enough or should i get the i5 version? Thanks
Maybe you should wait until Intel releases some drivers that support HDR under Windows 10 with there Movies app and within the GPU settings. Still no final WDDM 2.2 drivers available at this moment, don't know why this takes such a while or it must be that Intel Driver Development still has no hardware to test HDR?
(2017-06-13, 16:39)p750mmx Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-13, 16:28)ggp759 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi. Trying to buy an intel nuc (kaby lake) for 4k hdr playback. Is this https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01N6SG...B01N6SG8DP
model powerful enough or should i get the i5 version? Thanks
Maybe you should wait until Intel releases some drivers that support HDR under Windows 10. Still no final WDDM 2.2 drivers available at this moment, don't know why this takes such a while or it must be that Intel Driver Development still has no hardware to test HDR?
HDR does pass through using PowerDVD 17, If that's an option.

Sent from my HTC 10
(2017-06-13, 16:40)fmedrano1977 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-13, 16:39)p750mmx Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-13, 16:28)ggp759 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi. Trying to buy an intel nuc (kaby lake) for 4k hdr playback. Is this https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01N6SG...B01N6SG8DP
model powerful enough or should i get the i5 version? Thanks
Maybe you should wait until Intel releases some drivers that support HDR under Windows 10. Still no final WDDM 2.2 drivers available at this moment, don't know why this takes such a while or it must be that Intel Driver Development still has no hardware to test HDR?
HDR does pass through using PowerDVD 17, If that's an option.

Sent from my HTC 10 (typie typie)
That is quite an expensive option?
(2017-06-13, 16:47)p750mmx Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-13, 16:40)fmedrano1977 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-06-13, 16:39)p750mmx Wrote: [ -> ]Maybe you should wait until Intel releases some drivers that support HDR under Windows 10. Still no final WDDM 2.2 drivers available at this moment, don't know why this takes such a while or it must be that Intel Driver Development still has no hardware to test HDR?
HDR does pass through using PowerDVD 17, If that's an option.

Sent from my HTC 10 (typie typie)
That is quite an expensive option?
$85 expensive.

Sent from my HTC 10
I own a NUC7i3bnh, a HDMI 1.4 capable AV receiver, and a 4k TV (LG-55EF9509). I'm still struggelling with the correct way to connect these devices. As I want 4k movies to show in 4k, I would like to connect the NUC and the TV directly. Should I use the usb-c port or the HDMI port to go to the TV?

Thanks