Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: unable to upgrade to beta 17
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
hi
I have a himedia q5 android media player with kodi version 16.1. kodi was installed in the box when I bought it (in Thailand , use in USA ). I have upgraded a couple times in the google play App Store. I want to try a beta version 17 and with different install methods either get error app not installed or
There was a problem parsing the package

i did not uninstall the 16.1 in fear I may not be able to get 16.1 back on. plus the main menu. in the himedia has a large kodi button. I'm thinking if I uninstall That button won't be there

any suggestions to 'upgrade ' to a beta version ? will I need to uninstall the existing kodi ?

thanks
What version android are you using? I think 17 needs at least 5.0 / lollipop.
hi. I am new to androids ( only this media player is android )

my system Info screen shows this info for operating system

Android 4.4.2 API level 19 (kernel: Linux 3.10.0_s40)

I am familiar with upgrading OS in Windows , iPhone , no idea in android
Hardware big fish if his means anything

cpu
arm v7 processor rev1 v71
It's not possible to install 17 then. 5.0 is level 20 or 21, can't remember which. You've hit a brick wall anyway, unless there's an android update available.
only thing is i have upgraded 2 or 3 times in the last 2 years when non beta versions were available on then Google play App. right now v16.1 Jarvis is running fine upgraded some time ago

is there some difference in upgrading from google play ? I am at the latest Google play version

or is 16.1 Jarvis for older android operating systems ?

also any suggestions how to upgrade the android OS ? I am good with upgrades just not sure in android
No idea, sorry - it's device-specific. Maybe try freaktab but I wouldn't hold your breath.