Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: DTS music playback from WavPack (.wv) files
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
(2017-01-14, 17:41)HeresJohnny Wrote: [ -> ]Just to clarify, DTS is a lossy format. If you convert to flac, .wv or whatever, you're converting to a lossless format. That is the same as converting mp3 to flac etc. : A cardinal sin. As long as you do this for your own inscrutable purposes, no harm done - but please never ever distribute such files. Btw, foobar2000 can directly tag .dts, .wavdts and .wav.

I was referring to DTS in general terms. DTS Core is lossy. DTS-HDMA is lossless. Nothing wrong with converting either to FLAC (except DTS Core to FLAC wastes some disc space). But the advantage is that I can play the FLACs anywhere and tag with any software etc.
(2017-01-12, 20:04)wesk05 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-03, 00:56)Soli Wrote: [ -> ]It's not an accident AVRs decode bitstream content even though they stream is flagged as linear pcm.
If all modern day AVRs did this, how do you explain why these users are getting noise with this “PCM Passthrough”? Some of them could be user errors (volume control), but I don’t think all of them are user errors. As mentioned in Annex D of IEC 60958-1, this doesn’t conform to 60958 standards and it is up to the vendor to implement this “fail-safe” option for linear PCM vs non-linear PCM audio detection.

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2419995
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2457364
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2420652
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...id=2248752
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2242081
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2233494
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2234479
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2203068
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2202047
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2189107
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2189156
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2184950
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2182566
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2170080

Dunno, but it seems all the incidents involve either Denon or Marantz receivers. As you may know, Denon and Marantz is owned by D&M Holding. They are probably big enough as a company to develop their own IC chips for the the various audio modules/stages/etc. At some point thye might have "forgotten" to include this "feature", or maybe they simply are more picky about it through the HDMI inputs. (Chances are it still works with normal Toslink/Coax Spdif inputs). Do you know if this is an Android issue only?

I found this comment from popcornmix that might be related: https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware/...t-20209393
Anyways, it's less of a problem through HDMI inputs since the EDID will tell what formats are supported. Sending encoded audio as PCM (and then getting white noise @ max volume, then your stereo burning up, and your house burning down etc) will never happen unless it's forced, as is the case for all the threads you referenced.

If you were to have your amp at max volume and decide to blast some dts-inside-wav-files-but-encoded-as-flac files through your audio equipment, then you deserve what's coming Big Grin
(2017-01-15, 15:19)hugo57 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-08, 07:57)hugo57 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-07, 11:07)fritsch Wrote: [ -> ]No there is not.

I understand... Would it be possible to add this into Kodi? Big Grin

You mentioned before that if the DTS stream is in a .waw file Kodi can detect this and tries to open the passthrough sink. This made me thinking: with a tag like <forcepassthrough> in the <audio> section of advancedsettings.xml it should not be very complicated to make Kodi always open the PT sink instead of a normal audio output device. Passthrough makes sense only if the HTPC is connected to an AVR and I assume AVRs would have no issue decoding and playing FLAC or MP3 streams they receive as bitstreams via passthrough.

Obviously this might not be useful or even working at all for everybody but I am pretty sure it would make a big number of users happy...

Hi fritsch, may I ask you respectfully to answer my above question? I am not pushing to have this included in Krypton, it's far too late, but it would be great to see this feature, if it is feasible, in Leia.
I believe the reason he didn't answer you is simply that your request made no sense whatsoever. (And maybe he thought it would take too long to explain the technical reasons why, so maybe better just ignore it..)
(2017-01-18, 19:27)Soli Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-15, 15:19)hugo57 Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-01-08, 07:57)hugo57 Wrote: [ -> ]I understand... Would it be possible to add this into Kodi? Big Grin

You mentioned before that if the DTS stream is in a .waw file Kodi can detect this and tries to open the passthrough sink. This made me thinking: with a tag like <forcepassthrough> in the <audio> section of advancedsettings.xml it should not be very complicated to make Kodi always open the PT sink instead of a normal audio output device. Passthrough makes sense only if the HTPC is connected to an AVR and I assume AVRs would have no issue decoding and playing FLAC or MP3 streams they receive as bitstreams via passthrough.

Obviously this might not be useful or even working at all for everybody but I am pretty sure it would make a big number of users happy...

Hi fritsch, may I ask you respectfully to answer my above question? I am not pushing to have this included in Krypton, it's far too late, but it would be great to see this feature, if it is feasible, in Leia.
I believe the reason he didn't answer you is simply that your request made no sense whatsoever. (And maybe he thought it would take too long to explain the technical reasons why, so maybe better just ignore it..)

Wow... don't leave me in the dark... please do explain, at least briefly, I am eager to know why it doesn't make sense.
Pages: 1 2 3 4