Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: HTTP Error 503 When Accessing Add-on Repository
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I just uninstalled V16, removed everything for it and installed V17 fresh. With this fresh install loaded up I tried to access the built in Kodi Add-on's repository but I get an error in Kodi saying "Could not connect to repository."

Here is the snipit from my log file.

Code:
22:50:32.654 T:8320   DEBUG: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory (addons://repos/)
22:50:32.654 T:8320   DEBUG:   ParentPath = [addons://repos/]
22:50:32.658 T:8320   DEBUG: CAddonDatabase: SELECT repo.id FROM repo .. took 0 ms
22:50:32.658 T:8320   DEBUG: CAddonDatabase: no valid repository matching 'repository.xbmc.org'
22:50:32.658 T:8436   DEBUG: CRepositoryUpdateJob[repository.xbmc.org] checking for updates.
22:50:32.660 T:8436   DEBUG: CFileCache::Open - opening <addons/krypton/addons.xml.gz.md5> using cache
22:50:32.660 T:8436   DEBUG: CurlFile::Open(18F4B460) http://mirrors.kodi.tv/addons/krypton/addons.xml.gz.md5
22:50:32.660 T:8436    INFO: XCURL::DllLibCurlGlobal::easy_aquire - Created session to http://mirrors.kodi.tv
22:50:32.820 T:8436   ERROR: CCurlFile::FillBuffer - Failed: HTTP returned error 503
22:50:32.820 T:8436   ERROR: CCurlFile::Open failed with code 503 for http://mirrors.kodi.tv/addons/krypton/addons.xml.gz.md5
22:50:32.820 T:8436   ERROR: XFILE::CFileCache::Open - failed to open source <http://mirrors.kodi.tv/addons/krypton/addons.xml.gz.md5>
22:50:32.820 T:8436   ERROR: CRepository: failed read 'http://mirrors.kodi.tv/addons/krypton/addons.xml.gz.md5'
22:50:32.831 T:8436   DEBUG: CRepositoryUpdater: done.

If I cut and paste http://mirrors.kodi.tv/addons/krypton/addons.xml.gz.md5 into Chrome or IE the URL loads just fine. I can browse the repository in those browsers just fine as well.
I had this problem with my own repo last week. I had to add an extra empty line in the MD5 file to get it to work. But next time I updated the repo I didn't add the extra empty line and it worked fine again. So this, unfortunately, was my really long way of saying ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
You didn't mention if the Kodi version from the windows store or from the link upper left? Snippets of logs are frowned upon, complete log (wiki) with debug turned on gets the eyes.
(2017-01-06, 03:18)PatK Wrote: [ -> ]You didn't mention if the Kodi version from the windows store or from the link upper left? Snippets of logs are frowned upon, complete log (wiki) with debug turned on gets the eyes.

Thanks for the information. Here is my log file of a fresh startup, up to the error and then closing the app.

MOD EDIT: do not copy paste complete logs in the forum, just the pastebin please.

This Windows install was from the link in the top left.

Here is the link to my debug log.

http://pastebin.com/uhfcqxS4
(2017-01-06, 01:09)pkscout Wrote: [ -> ]I had this problem with my own repo last week. I had to add an extra empty line in the MD5 file to get it to work. But next time I updated the repo I didn't add the extra empty line and it worked fine again. So this, unfortunately, was my really long way of saying ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Where is the MD5 file that you added the extra line too?
So I have determined my problem, or rather found another thread that gave me an idea and it turned out to be the right fix. (298504 (thread))

I have a VPN running and while the VPN is active I get the Error 503. When I turn the VPN off I no longer get the error.

Why doesn't Kodi work to access the repo from while my firewall is active but accessing the repo through Google Chrome works just fine while my firewall is active?
If you are accessing the internet through a VPN, it is possible we blocked that specific VPN endpoint on the server because it was misusing our infrastructure.
It's also possible you set something up wrong on your side. Hard to say with this little data.
I moved the thread to [Website and Forum issues]