Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Can you make custom Keymaps that goes with your skin?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey, i am new at skinning in kodi, but i wonder if it is possible to put a custom keymap in a keyboard.xml or like inside the skin, so people don't need to download both the skin and the keymap and know where to place it.

Thanks in advance
I thought to begin with I would need a key map.... but as you start skinning yo will realize that you can get everything done with buttons and the already available key layout...

plus everyone is already used to the way the Kodi works now do you really want to change it and then someone will have to learn it?
Add-ons that change keymaps are not allowed.
(2017-03-01, 06:24)nickr Wrote: [ -> ]Add-ons that change keymaps are not allowed.
Isn't that just in the official repo?
There is an addon to edit keymap.xml in kodi repo, 'Keymap Editor'.
You could maybe ask dev if there is a way to incorporate a keyscript for it to run on users permission.
(2017-02-28, 09:39)smitchell6879 Wrote: [ -> ]I thought to begin with I would need a key map.... but as you start skinning yo will realize that you can get everything done with buttons and the already available key layout...

Suppose I wanted to make the mouse wheel roll the Guide up and down, instead of the current behaviour (left to right). I know that's easy with a custom keymap, but how would I do that in the skin?
I would need to see the code for the guide I have a idea but it depends how the guide is layed out.
It's just the standard guide code from Estuary. (I've made other changes for my Mousetuary skin but the guide is unchanged so far)