Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Movies format
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
i am brand new to kodi, please be patient.

am going to hire someone to put all my dvd and blu-ray movies on my hard drive, but in what format, is conversion necessary.

sorry but now disabled and need help and can't find exact answer.

thank you.
Welcome. I've moved your thread to a more appropriate place.

As to your question, it will depend on a few things.

Firstly, how many movies are we talking about and how large is your hard drive? If you have limited space you will want to rip and compress. If you have terabytes upon terabytes of space you may just want to rip them 1:1 or to preserve quality.
I rip my collection onto it's original format. So a DVD is copied into Video_TS and Bluray into Stream\*.mt2s. They are all at original quality with no conversion and Kodi has no problem with that.

Others rip their good quality Blu-rays and reduce the quality of the copy (why, I don't know. Seems to defeat the purpose of buying a bluray). But, like Dangelus stated, depends how many disks, and how much space you have available which will sway your end decision. Though storage is pretty cheap these days.

Do you need to hire someone to do that? It is fairly simple to do, but time consuming. An easy program to use for ripping is DVDFab.
It also depends on whether you want the movies themselves, or all the trimmings. You can rip the main track to mkv, either "as is" or re-encoded as above. You can then also drop out audio tracks (e.g. the HD/7.1 stuff) and/or subtitles if you don't need them or are pushed for space.