Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Custom Addon not giving update option
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey gang, newbie here and hoping that someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong. I have an add-on thats currently working but I wanted to update it to a new version that allows for a fresh start option. I have the new code tested and ready to update but I cannot get my current add-on to update to the new version. I have changed the version numbers in the addon.xml and the default.py files and also noted the changes in changelog.txt file.

Also, I kept the add-on the same name and also under the same directory.

I have went into the add-on and tried to manually do an update but its telling me that there isn't one available.

Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong? Sorry if this is a frequent question...
(2017-08-08, 21:09)hardeec Wrote: [ -> ]Hey gang, newbie here and hoping that someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong. I have an add-on wizard thats currently working but I wanted to update it to a new version that allows for a fresh start option. I have the new code tested and ready to update but I cannot get my current add-on to update to the new version. I have changed the version numbers in the addon.xml and the default.py files and also noted the changes in changelog.txt file.

Also, I kept the add-on the same name and also under the same directory.

I have went into the add-on and tried to manually do an update but its telling me that there isn't one available.

Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong? Sorry if this is a frequent question...
What's an add-on wizard?

Sent from my SM-G935T
Thats what I named the add-on.
Kodi doesn't require "wizards" to update plugins....

You'll have to brush up on Kodi addons.xml/repository structures.

Your posts doesn't mention either of those.

Sent from my SM-G935T
Okay, I will do that. Thank you.